Benevolent Dragons - Haiku and 5 Minute Freewrite - and Alliance Block Party Wonderfulness!!!

20190617_170757 - Heirloom Hydrandea in full bloom.jpg

I'm still awaiting
my benevolent dragon;
pure magnificence.

First, a big thank you to @mariannewest for making this the prompt for today's freewrite, not to mention for being kind enough to give me a ride to my hotel, after this weekend's Alliance Block Party came to a close.

One of my favorite parts of the meetup was on the last night, when @snook gathered us around the dining table and asked us each a "Pants are Optional" question, while first assuring us that this was not being recorded, so we could speak our minds freely.

Which in my case, I would certainly have done anyway, and I'm guessing, so would most if not all of those still present. And yes, we were all fully dressed. ;-)

In any case, it was wonderful, with fabulous questions and really interesting responses, many of which were outright hilarious. I haven't laughed this much in a long time.

My favorite question of all was the one she asked me, and having had a sister for whom mythology and fairy tales were a serious avocation, I felt particularly blessed to have been asked.

The question (necessarily paraphrased): Which, of all mythical creatures, do you think would most benefit humanity and the world if it turned out to be real?

And, for me, the answer was as obvious as could be: benevolent dragons.

For imagine, if you will, the reality of dragons for whom humanity are not just friends, but family; partners in life against all odds, as true allies, who help one another unhesitatingly through everything that life can and will throw our way.

Of course, for me, the dragons I immediately think of are those from Anne McCaffrey's "Dragonriders of Pern" series, one of the finest science fiction/fantasy series it has ever been my pleasure to read.

McCaffrey, for those unfamiliar with her, was one of the finest science fiction authors in the U.S., as well as the first female author to win both a Hugo and a Nebula award.

Her initial novella, which ultimately became the beginning of the book "Dragonflight," the first in her "Dragonriders of Pern" series, followed the story of Lessa, a young woman recruited to establish a bond with a queen dragon (Ramoth) at hatching, the dragon "impressing" upon Lessa, as a baby bird imprints upon the first animal it sees.

Subsequent stories followed Lessa's training as a dragon rider, Ramoth's growth and training, and the nature of their bond, which was not merely telepathic, as it is usually described, but truly a soul level connection: what one sees and experiences, the other does as well, leading to incredible closeness and connection, but also at times to unintended consequences.

And, as the rider of the queen dragon, Lessa becomes the leader of the Weyr, and among its greatest warriors.

The reason behind their training is their shared enemy, the alien menace known as "Thread," which comes in cycles and will come again, ravaging all in its path.

The humans on their own are at its mercy, but having discovered indigenous dragons on their planet with unique and amazing abilities, such as being able to travel instantly between time and space, albeit with limitations, they have befriended the dragons, and bred them over many generations to far greater size, intelligence, telepathy and strength.

And yes. They can breathe fire.

McCaffrey's worlds are lush and detailed, her characters intelligent and believable, and her books, along with Ursula K. Le Guin's, among the best science fiction I have ever read, which is to say far better than a number of better-known authors.

For another perspective on benevolent dragons, Ursula K. Le Guin's first novel, "A Wizard of Earthsea," has a story line which may be familiar to many:

"The story is set in the fictional archipelago of Earthsea and centers around a young mage named Ged, born in a village on the island of Gont.

"He displays great power while still a boy and joins the school of wizardry, where his prickly nature drives him into conflict with one of his fellows. During a magical duel, Ged's spell goes awry and releases a shadow creature that attacks him. The novel follows his journey as he seeks to be free of the creature.

"The book has often been described as a Bildungsroman, or coming-of-age story, as it explores Ged's process of learning to cope with power and come to terms with death."

Sound familiar? Yeah. I thought so. And, of course, Earthsea is also home to dragons, which are wise and revered.

"A Wizard of Earthsea" was published in 1968, when JK Rowling was three years old. It was among my favorite books as a child.

As one of the most popular, beloved and influential children's books (and series) of all time, and having read the entire "Harry Potter" series (which I also love), I have zero doubt that she knew the book (and series) quite well.

I do find it a bit sad, as did Le Guin, that Rowling has never seen fit to acknowledge at least the influence of the books, if not the obvious parallels between the stories.

For her own part, Le Guin, with her second novel "The Left Hand of Darkness," became the first female author to win both a Hugo and a Nebula award for the same book. I recommend the book highly.

My favorite quote by Ursula K. Le Guin?:

“People who deny the existence of dragons are often eaten by dragons. From within.”

― Ursula K. Le Guin, The Wave in the Mind: Talks and Essays on the Writer, the Reader and the Imagination

And now, with no further ado, here is my freewrite, which I've written from my own imagined perspective of the young Lessa, entering the room where Ramoth will impress upon her, bearing in mind that it's been roughly forty years since I've read any of the relevant books.

The Impression

I enter the room with trepidation, though this is the moment we have all been awaiting.

Alone, I approach the table with its precious cargo; the luminous dragon's egg, warm and slowly pulsating, with the slightest of cracks beginning to appear in its surface.

Time stops, as does my breath and heart. For an instant, nothing moves, there is no sound.

Then her tiny egg tooth appears, the crack widens, and a piece of shell begins to lift, exposing her tiny jewel-toned head, which, eyes still closed, she turns toward me. My benevolent dragon queen.

Slowly she opens her eyes. I find myself gazing deeply into her, then my own soul, as she finds hers within me. We are One, in a way I had never dreamed possible, never heard mentioned or surmised, not even in tales of myth and legend.

She is the self I never knew was missing.

I will live and die for Ramoth, and she will do the same for me. We live and breathe and think and fight together as One. Our hearts keep time, our souls entwined, and nothing I have ever known could have prepared me for this . . . or will ever be the same.

I am found.

I stuck to the five minutes allotted, and after the timer, only cleaned up some typos and added a couple of descriptive terms. About eight to ten minutes total.

I think you can easily see how great an impact Lessa and Ramoth had on me, even after four decades or more.

In the dragonworlds I inhabited growing up, the dragons were far less often fire-breathing menaces bent upon destruction, and more often wise, kind, regal, fair, and unwilling to use their power for evil. Benevolent dragons indeed.

We could use a few of them right about now.

Woo hoo!!! I have a working laptop again!!! Life is wonderful, and getting better, better and better.

I'll try to make up for lost time writing in the days and weeks to come.

The photo above was taken by me about a week and a half ago, of one of our lovely heirloom hydrangeas, which flank our front porch, in luxurious full bloom. Absolutely breathtaking. Taken with my Samsung Galaxy Note 8.

Sorry. Fresh out of dragon photos.

Finally, I'd like to give my heartfelt thanks to everyone at The Alliance Block Party, as rarely have I been with such an uplifting, kind, generous, considerate, talented and outright hilarious group of souls. What a blast!!!

So many, many thanks to @bethvalverde, @davedickeyyall, @dreemsteem, @ecoinstant, @ecoinstante, @enginewitty, @jayna, @mariannewest, @michaeldavid and his awesome son Eldon, aka Mini Chef, @prettynicevideo, Liz, @rakkasan84, @scarletreaper, our inimitable @snook, and of course the ever-awesome @enginewitty, who worked so hard to bring us all together in one place, and did everything in his power to be the ultimate host, and make certain that everyone was having a great time. I love you all.

And I'm pretty sure I've left someone out, so if you know who it is, please bring it to my attention so that I can correct it ASAP. Thanks!

#earthtribe #tribevibes #naturalmedicine #tribegloballove #tarc #yah #ecotrain #thewritersblock #smg #ghsc #spunkeemonkee #thirtydayhaikuchallenge #teamgood #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #womenofsteemit #steemusa #qurator #steemitbasicincome #bethechange #chooselove #photography #beauty #love #animals #culture #peacemaking #peacemaker #friendship, #warmth #self-respect #respect #allowing #sciencefiction #fantasy #scifi #syfy #dragon

@edxserverus_5 - TSU Banner.png

SubscriptionPackOwner.png

ecotrain.png

The Writers Block.gif

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://tinyurl.com/y93h9wt4

TribeGlobalLove Banner.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Your blue hydrangeas are staying blue: that takes a special kind of magic for a gardener! The right balance of acid/alkaline eludes most Midwesterners.
I'm with you: I do find it a bit sad, as did Le Guin, that Rowling has never seen fit to acknowledge at least the influence of the books, if not the obvious parallels between the stories. She also denied having seen the Neil Gaiman story with the owl and soooo many parallels to Potter. I wouldn't call it plagiarism, but acknowledging another author's influence and inspiration would only be fair.
As always, your post is enlightening and beautiful. Thanks for writing and sharing!

Thanks, @carolkean!

Yeah, one of the things I've always loved among my favorite musicians, especially Steven Wilson, is how readily they not only admit their influences, but celebrate and honor them in their music.

On Wilson's Myspace account, years ago, he listed close to a hundred strong musical influences, some of which made music literally nothing like anything he's ever done, and closed the paragraph with, "and everything else." My kind of guy.

Mariusz Duda and his band Riverside, who also readily acknowledge the influences they love and grew up with, readily acknowledge Wilson's band Porcupine Tree as a strong influence (which is how I came to know Riverside in the first place, as an avowed Wilson/Porcupine Tree fan), along with other bands such as Marillion, Pink Floyd and Dead Can Dance.

In fact, in the middle of their song "Toward the Blue Horizon," from their sixth album "Love, Fear and the Time Machine," their late guitarist Piotr Grudzinski lifts the entire opening rift from PT's "Blind House," from their last (so far) album, "The Incident."

"Toward the Blue Horizon" is beautiful song on its own merit, but it's always been all the more special to me because of the homage to Porcupine Tree. I love when musicians give one another a musical nod. ;-)

As to the hydrangeas, we have naturally acidic clay-based soil here, so if I put them in the ground the flowers turn more deeply blue over time. Blue is my favorite color, so I'm not messing with it at all.

Ok this is the third time I'm writing this comment... Lol because partiko keeps closing while I'm writing and it's frustrating me!!! Lol

But this was sooooo wonderful! I got lost in this post :)

In the best way possible!!! I want a dragon to imprint on me now!!!! Hehhee

I so enjoyed that special time with just you and me and @enginewitty in the car after picking you up!!!

The laughing and crazy songs...hehheh special time!!!

I can't wait to see you again and I truly love your style of posting!!! Mesmerizing.. hehehe

Sending love to you!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sending love right back, @dreemsteem!

I had a blast with you both, and I had no idea before that ride just how much you and I have in common!

I've always had a thing for dragons . . . can you tell?

Part of it is the little kid in me who always wanted a pet dinosaur, part of it was my little kid getting so upset with little Jackie Paper for abandoning "Puff the Magic Dragon" to his lonely cave.

I might not live forever either, but I'd have damned well done my best to make Puff a welcome and beloved part of the family, so that others took up the torch when I was no longer able to do so.

Better treatment for mythical dragons! Especially the playful, benevolent kind. ;-)

hehehehehe yes indeed!

i read this REALLY cool story and dragons were in the form of humans... but i do NOT remember the name of the series! ill have to find it - cuz it is on my very full Kindle
hehehehe

and yep - us and our sick and twisted songs ;)

you need to do a video post of you singing that one! hahahahaha it was GREAT :)

Which one? They're both pretty twisted, lolol!

Posted using Partiko Android

The comment has to be juuuust right before Steemit will allow it. So work harder :-)

Sounds like you had a blast. So cool you went. And great your laptop is up and running again!!

People who deny the existence of dragons are often eaten by dragons. From within.”

Best quote ever. Read Mc Caffrey and Le Guin. And soooo believe in dragons.

I even saw one once.

Posted using Partiko Android

Funny, a friend and I were discussing dragons tonight.

He asked if I believed they were real, and I commented that since they appear in the legends and mythology of cultures worldwide, and have for centuries, while having many commonalities between the descriptions of widely disparate cultures, that I am inclined to believe that these myths and legends were based on something deeply truthful.

Do I know what that looks like? No.

But I believe that many of those who wrote about dragons believed that they were passing along pertinent information, that would inform those coming after, and would make a difference to later generations.

I've seen some pretty amazing things in my life, including some that defy explanations, but alas I've yet to see dragons. Perhaps someday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @solominer.

Thank you, @helpie and @solominer!
Your work is much appreciated.

Posted using Partiko Android

What a beautiful story!!!

I am so HAPPY you finally made it there. I hope you are back home now like I finally am and taking great care of yourself!!

Thank YOU so much for sharing the back story to that night!! It really means a lot for me to read this!

Thanks so much, @snook! I had a blast with this one.

At the moment I'm still in my hotel in Colorado Springs, and will be flying home at 4:30-ish tomorrow. I'm looking forward to seeing all my fur- and feathered-kids again.

The good news, though, is that this hotel has a heated spa, so I went down today and spent about half an hour doing shoulder exercises, so now it is just a minor twinge now and then.

Life is good. ;-)

This was awesome! I remember your answer during @snook's PAO exercise and you totally said benevolent dragons😋

Posted using Partiko Android

I did indeed!
Wouldn't you love to have some benevolent dragons in the family? I sure would!

Posted using Partiko Android

How does @carolkean always beat me to these freewrites?

I love this one! I read all the books you mentioned forty or more years ago, I know I did, but I don't remember a thing about any of them. I am astonished you could write this lovely tale of the imprinting. "I am found"

And a bonus haiku! Doesn't get better than that.

I don't like Rowling anyway near as much as Le Guin and McCaffrey among many others who are much better writers than Rowling. Since I am usually alone in this lower estimation of her works, I love me a little Rowling bashing now and then.

Me too! Poo to Rowling! I said that to a student once and she never spoke to me again.

Posted using Partiko Android

I said it at my book group, Rowling lovers and young mothers all of them. It didn't go well.
I'm sorry about your student.
I often feel this way about books - great story, presented in a mediocre style. Frank Herbert and NK Jemison are two more I can think of at the moment.
When you love Robertson Davies as I do, many others don't measure up. Tolkien could tell a tale too.

You're a Robertson Davies fan?!?!?!?!?

Be still my heart!!! I ADORE Davies, and completely agree, damned few authors even come close to measuring up!!!

One of my best friends introduced me to him back in the 80s, via "The Deptford Trilogy," which he introduced to me in a letter thus:

"It has absolutely no plot, but he's such an adept wordsmith that I look forward with dread to finishing it."

Still my favorite book review of all time. ;-)

I've since read most of his books, which is to say all those I've managed to find and add to my collection, and my personal favorite is "Murther and Walking Spirits."

I completely love the worlds he creates, his amazing use of the English language, and the joy he takes in weaving words to wondrous effect.

No one does it better.

No one. I haven't read Murther, and you are the second person on steem to recommend that book to me as their favorite. Best get cracking on that one.
I love the magic, the mystery, the flights of fancy!
Parlabane is back.

Loading...

Wow, that post packs a punch! But I read it all. As always, you are a terrific writer. Glad to hear you got your laptop back! I really enjoyed reading your freewrite piece. It’s lovely!

I once went to see Ursula Le Guin at a reading in Washington D.C. She was amazing, and articulate and funny. I had no idea that she was an inspiration for J.K. Rowling. But that does make sense!

So great meeting you and hanging with the gang at the terrific meetup in Cripple Creek! Such great memories. I will cherish them!

Thanks so much, @jayna, I appreciate your kind words.

I'd love to have seen Le Guin, and Anne McCaffrey too. Such amazingly talented, wise and humorous women, and fairly close in age, I wonder whether and/or how often they came across one another. I'll bet those would have been some deeply fascinating conversations, don't you?

One funny aside, for some reason I always thought that Le Guin was a British writer, and was a bit shocked to learn that she was actually born and raised in Berkeley, California. But she shared my love of the redwoods, and of the natural environment as a whole.

And it's even funnier to me when I think of McCaffrey, also an American writer, who actually did emigrate to Ireland in 1970. Perhaps somewhere along the line I got them mixed up, at least as to that detail.

Both women were hugely influential in my own writing, as I tend like them to go deep into detail, rather than sticking to generalizations.

Of course, verbosity can be its own curse, and the editing process can be quite painful, as you well know. ;-)

Love the Asian style verse! Great story :-)

Thanks!l
I've loved haiku since I was a kid.

Posted using Partiko Android

I was hoping the Bot would come and visit...but alas he did not.

Ah well, maybe next time. ;-)

I'm still awaiting
my benevolent dragon;
pure magnificence.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79