Disposable Diaper – Freewrite #9 (Day 790)

in #freewrite5 years ago

“He’s three years old for Christ sake!”

“Well, he still doesn’t know when to ask to go.” I lifted his legs and slid the diaper into place.

“I just think you haven’t done a good job with him.”

Well, she would think that. She never thought that I did a good job, and raising Jimmy by myself was just another case in a long line of complaint.

Mom left the bathroom and went back to her shopping. “C’mon Jimmy, let’s get you settled.” I put his corduroys back on. A man came into the restroom as I was lifting the changing table back into place.

“Isn’t that woman’s work,” he asked with a grin.

“She died,” I said. I didn’t feel like joking around. He lost his grin. Serves him right I thought.

Jimmy felt the tension and clung to me when I left the bathroom. “It’s alright bud,” I said. “We’re gonna be fine.”

In the bright lights of Walmart, the people thronged for their Christmas gifts.


To receive the daily #freewrite prompts, follow @mariannewest.


Photo from Pixabay, by StockSnap

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Parenting is not an easy task @cliffagreen, even harder if the parents are fighting, you caught this very well in your story, keep up your great work, it's awesome.


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a manual 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Upvotes in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 3 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in todays Awesome Daily report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem ecosystem by rewarding it".

Thanks @cliffagreen, and keep on creating awesome content.

moms can be so critical. good that he is standing up for his boy.

Thanks for reading, and thanks for the prompts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, @deirdyweirdy said it all! Great little story.

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is great. So much said in so few words. You can really feel the narrator's frustration in his retort to the stranger's little quip.

Thank you. I'd use more words, but we only have 5 minutes!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey this is a great story! I would love to see some more of that.

Nice free writing article.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65989.03
ETH 2622.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65