Day 49: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Mosquitos

in #freewrite6 years ago


Source

What is the national bird of my country - Malaysia? Some may say it's the Hornbill bird, or the hummingbird. To be honest, I'm not even sure. But if you ask any fellow Malaysians, they would probably say

"The national bird of my country? It's the mosquitos!" - any Malaysian

I grew up in a little town with my house right next to the storm drain so mosquitos and I have quite an intimate relationship.

Every morning at sunrise and every evening at sunset, these lovely creatures come out to play. Bzzz-bzzz-bzzz I'll start to hear them by my ear.

It used to be a daily playtime for me. The sky, orange in hue, it's time to take out the electric racquets and start hunting! I know they're favorite spots. I just have to go to any plants, black furniture or small pools of water.

Shake, shake, shake

BZZZZZZTTTT- POP!- BZZZZT - POP! POP! - BZZZTTTTTT

What luck! I managed to kill 10 in a swoop!

Karma is a dish best served cold. You see, my intimacy with mosquitos go WAAAAYYY back when those little bastards gave me Dengue as a toddler. I had to stay in the hospital for a couple weeks with 40C ++ (104F) fever.

It didn't just end there, in my teenage years these little rascals decided to infect me with another virus - Chikungunya. So you could say, it's a love-hate relationship between us.

But at the end of the day, it doesn't feel like Malaysia - like home - without hearing the buzzing sounds of those, FUCKING (#Q&$%#($&)@#&$)@!($)()!@($)@!($) Q#($&#Q)$& Q$*)#)$98...oh my 5 minutes are up


Imgur

The story above is for the Daily 5 Minute Free Write challenge by @improv and @mariannewest. It's quite a fun challenge, especially when using a tool like THE MOST DANGEROUS WRITING APP which was introduced by @maverickfoo. The app forces you to continuously write for the set amount of time or everything you wrote will disappear after a few seconds! Try it out!

follow_chuazm.gif

Sort:  

damn. i couldn't imagine it. :( there's a guy who has an insane amount of tires that lives near my brother. tires are a breeding ground for the little bastards because of the water they hold. i hate the fuckers too, @chuazm. ours aren't as nasty as the ones over there as far as carrying disease, but they're no less annoying.
Mo

Hehe, that's a horrible way to awake.

we have some now which breed in the house and outside and are up and about all day long!! Hate them. and they carry blue nile viruses. Arghhhh.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-50-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-snoring

Man, I haven't even had to deal with that severe of an issue and I still hate those bastards. I can't imagine how you must feel! Great post and I'm glad you've managed to survive the mosquitos!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88