The Bathing Tent

in #freewrite6 years ago

20180626_064058.jpg

      I like to think of myself as a creative person. A problem solver. I come up with solutions that I feel are brilliant or at the very least, workable. My family and friends, much as they love me, don't tend to agree.

      A few years back, we remodeled our tiny bathroom. The UGLY yellow flecked paneling was flaking and bowing out from the wall. The previous owners had either LOVED the color or hit a sale because all of the paint and tiles in the house had that atrocious 70's shade. My sister insisted that we let her help us with the work. It was very kind and we were appreciative but, have you ever worked on a project in your own home with a pushy older sibling who thinks that you don't know your ass from a hole in the ground? #FUN

      While I was at work the first night, they ripped everything out from the bathroom, down to the studs. I came home to find that they threw everything from the bathroom alongside my garage, where my garden was at the time. (MY TOMATOES!!!) My partner said it was only temporary and hid from me when I stomped my foot and pointed angrily to the OTHER side of the garage, where there hadn't been food growing. But, everyone was in a hurry to get the project done, so I let it go.

      The five of us (my partner and I, his brother who was living with us at the time, and my sister and her husband) worked like crazy to get the remodel completed by the end of the weekend. We alternated squeezing ourselves into the little bathroom with trips to the hardware store for insulation, wiring, pipes, and whatnots. We were sore, dirty and grumpy. Our little bucket baths in the basement took care of the grime but it wasn't cutting it for our moods.

      I came up with an idea for everyone to be able to relax. After dinner on Saturday night, I set up our tent in the backyard. Inside, I placed a few folding camp chairs, towels, a few plastic bins as tables, and our radio. Our children have one of those six foot hard plastic splashing pools, complete with pictures of happy fish swimming on it, and I used that for a tub. Water was boiled in every large pot that I had to add to the cold hose water and voila! I had set up what, in my mind, was a charming (and a little redneck) spa!

      I happily told my family what I had done and asked who wanted to go first. My sister glared at me. Her husband said he thought I had been boiling water to cook the corn and salt potatoes for the next day. My partner shook his head and retreated upstairs while his brother said, and I quote, "No Fucking Way". My girls, bless their hearts, stripped and ran outside. (At least two people liked my idea.) Though, I had to yell at them to NOT run through the yard naked.

      So, that is how I unded up taking a nice relaxing bath in my backyard while my neighbors sat in their yard, listening to my radio and my splashing.

      I still think it was a good idea.


Thank you @Omra-sky for my sweet Squirrple Necklace separator!
Main image by @brisby
For the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - bath by @mariannewest.
Thanks Marianne!


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Squirrel World GIF by @Omra-sky. Thank you! 😻

GIF by @Omra-sky.

Carl GIF by @Snook! 💖 - Personalized by @Omra-sky

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Badge made by @Fireawaymarmot & personalized by @Omra-sky!


Thank YOU for reading!

Sort:  

Thanks Moinece36! Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45