Squirrel Seeks Scraps in Space

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

squirrel in space (2).png

      My decision to leave this world came to me while I was eating my morning coffee grounds from Ms. M.'s garbage.

      I know.. I know..., caffeine is the last thing anyone wants a squirrel like me to have. But, I need that jolt to start my day. Trust me, NO ONE wants to be around me until after I've had my first few mouthfuls! "But Brisby," you're probably thinking, "You're such a bright and cheerful forager in the community! Surely you'd never be a hissing and scratching mass of fur and claws!" Well, thank you for your kind, and mostly accurate, thoughts but, ask Beakman how he really lost the feathers on his left wing. I'm not proud of what I did to our paper delivery bird. (Though, he should NOT have thrown my copy of the Daily Nut at me before I had my morning fix.)

      Anyway, I was crunching away and reading through the Lost and Recently Chewed (poor Sherlock Bones was missing yet another frisbee) when I saw the article. Smack dab in the middle of page three it said, One Year in Space, Three Years of Science. It told of the change's to a human's body compared to that of his Earth-bound twin after being in space for 340 days. (That annoyed me, the article said ONE YEAR not almost a year. Damned misleading headlines.) The article continued on, with a response underneath from the Coalition of Fur, Fangs, and Feathers that demanded a sister study on the effects to animals' bodies while living off planet for so long.

      What sane creature would want to float up there for a year? Were there trees in space? Did it have wires to scamper across or cars to play dodge with? Could one taunt pets through the windows of other spaceships? Where did all of the garbage go?

      That question stopped me.

      Trash. Waste. Deliciously delectable refuse! Humans were guaranteed to leave some behind. It was probably there, floating free and unclaimed. Ready for an enterprising and intelligent squirrel to swim and nibble through to her heart's content. Did rubbish taste different in space? Were the smells the same? These were questions that needed answers.

      So, for the sake of science, I sent in my application. Twelve suns later, the Coalition sent me an approval letter. They said that they were honored to accept such a qualified and resourceful volunteer such as myself into the next launch. (Actually, the words were "willing" and "sacrifice" but you get the idea.)

      I began my training. Days were spent learning how to keep still while being shaken in a tin can, how to chew through a tube to get the squishy food inside, and most importantly, how to scamper away from surprised humans while floating. Through all of the rigorous preparations, I pondered if I had made the right decision. I worried that I'd have to share the space garbage with the other explorers. I was curious about what I would do to keep myself from being bored out of my mind.

      I wondered if there would be coffee grounds on board the ship.


Thank you @Omra-sky for my sweet Squirrple Necklace separator!
Main image by @brisby
For the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - one year by @mariannewest.
Thanks Marianne!


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Squirrel World GIF by @Omra-sky. Thank you! 😻

GIF by @Omra-sky.

Carl GIF by @Snook! 💖 - Personalized by @Omra-sky

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Badge made by @Fireawaymarmot & personalized by @Omra-sky!


Thank YOU for reading!

Sort:  

I love this! The Daily Nut sounds like my kind of news! And space is littered with debris thanks to NASA.

Where else would a hardworking pubrisbycist get her info? 😉
Yeah, since the 1950's explorers have dumped millions of pieces of trash in space. Some burns up in the atmosphere but it could take centuries for a lot of it to come close enough for that. There's even debris left on the moon! A hammer, a feather (this made me chuckle a bit and I thought of your Gift From Nature post), rangers, etc. all still there, probably never to be retrieved. And let's not get started on what's been left on Mars... Could we please institute a "Carry In, Carry Out" policy for space travel?
Thank you Omra, for the comment and for the re-steem. 🤗

Your post has been curated by @freewritehouse in our Freewrite Favorites, Volume #10 Thank you for participating in our freewrite challenge!

Get a $9.60 Upvote and Your Post Resteemed to My 2 Accounts @a-0-0 & @a-a-a with 72,500+ Followers. Send 5 SBD with Your post URL in MEMO to @a-0-0

I love your humor :) What a wonderful story! You brought a much needed smile to my day. Thank you.

Yay! I made you smile! #loveit!! Thank you so much for stopping by and reading my story Byn! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61937.20
ETH 3004.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49