You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freewrite Challenge Word: Grounding

in #freewrite7 years ago

"What could go wrong?" Famous last words that I've uttered whenever I do any home project. (Right up there with "It'll just be a 10 minute project." 😁)
This was a good story, thank you! As for rules, don't worry too much about that. Some of us correct the spelling and sometimes we go over 5 minutes. Some use the prompt as an idea and just jump into writing novels. Don't worry and have fun! Welcome to the freewriting group!

Sort:  

Well, I didn't add this to the story. The electrician said I bought the wrong outlet at the hardware store, so that was the main problem. It was impossible to get the wires tight enough on the one we had because this house has aluminum wiring. I think modern wiring uses copper because aluminum has problems like this. Anyway, to be safe, they use a different kind of outlet. So, yeah, ignorance on my part is dangerous.

Thanks for the addition to the story! I can't tell you how often I have to go back and forth to the hardware store because I purchased the wrong gasket, wire, nut, flange, etc.
There are so many things to consider when dealing with the wiring in a house that I refuse to tie anything into the main box (it's illegal in my city anyway) until an inspector comes and makes sure that I won't burn my house down! 😏

This is why I miss the old style stores so much. Where you had a person behind the counter who knew what you needed and gave you the right stuff and an explanation on how to do the job right.

Yeah, it's a different age. When I was a kid, there would be somebody at the hardware store who actually cared if you burned down your house.