You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The world was mine for the reading, A 5 minute freewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

Oooh to live above a bookshop sounds like a bit of heaven! Love what your father had to say about the knowledge of the world. When I was younger my mother used to let me check out books from the public library once a month (as long as I behaved anyway). Imagine how different we'd be without access to so many books as children..

I read below about needing your father's signature as the head of house and though I was pretty sure that's where the 'inferior' part of your freewrite was headed, it's still saddening to read. 🤗

Sort:  

It was like a different world then. We even had a list of banned books which were not on display but sold surreptitiously from under the counter. Seeing what's happening on social media platforms recently though, it seems we've turned full circle to the 21st-century version of book banning.

Uggh. Book (and content) banning. 🤢 Inner and outer me cheers that the banned titles were sold anyways. 😀

My father wasn't a great believer in rules, other than the ones he made himself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47