For Granted

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

squirrel bowl.png

      We all have something that we notice first about a person. Eyes will catch me. I look for kindness and that twinkle of intelligence. A laugh will hold me. I feel it wrap around and lift my mood at the joy that echoes out. Hands make my imagination run wild. They embody the possibilities at what their owner can do and create.

      As all things, hands are a gift from the universe. Though technology has advanced enough to replicate the appearance and basic function, it has a long way to go to replacing what we're born with. The combination of strength and subtle gentleness inherent to these appendages is truly a marvel, one that most of us take for granted.

      With our hands we create. We can take a piece of wood and carve it. Bring to reality the images in our minds. Making tangible the art and emotion within ourselves. Or, using that same piece, crafting an object, like a bowl, that will serve a purpose. Something that will be used to help us nourish and flourish.

      With our hands, we touch. We reach out to run our fingers along a surface, letting the nerves in the tips tell us more about what they feel. They can gently cradle a child, rock them to sleep when they need to feel comforted and safe. They can give a firm hug, letting the recipient know that they are loved, that they matter, that they are cared for.

      With our hands, we communicate. For those unable to speak or hear, they use signs for conversation. Gestures and motions permeate our cultures. A simple hand movement can convey a friendly "hello" or an angry "fuck you". When they're tense, you know that a person is stressed. If someone is rapidly flittering them around, it shows their excitement, their emotions too great to be calmly held within.

      Today, take a moment to wonder at the marvel of your hands. Without them, there is still much that one can do. But, with them, the possibilities are endless.


Thank you @Omra-sky for my sweet Squirrple Necklace separator!
Main image by @brisby
For the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - wood by @mariannewest.
Thanks Marianne!


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Squirrel World GIF by @Omra-sky. Thank you! 😻

Carl GIF by @Snook! 💖 - Personalized by @Omra-sky

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Badge made by @Fireawaymarmot & personalized by @Omra-sky!


Thank YOU for reading!

Sort:  

@brisby @brisby you have 23 minutes for your #freewrite on prototype. Hurry!!!

You're a real bro Bruni! Hugs & thank you!!

I wasn't sure if you'd get alerted @brisby, but I thought I would try. 🙏

I'm being bad and using my data on my phone while I'm at work, which i often have off. Thanks again for reminding me to post!

We take so much for granted and often only appreciate what we had when it is gone.

So true for so much of life. Thank you Marianne and have a great weekend!

What an amazing freewrite. Truly our hands can convey so much meaning and create so much talent. I must add the hands can also type beautiful tribute like this. What a lovely bowl that was crafted.

Thank you Janelle! I hope that you're feeling better now. 🤗 I'm touched that you liked my story and love your addition! The bowl was a gift from my partner's brother from when he was stationed in Afghanistan. One of the locals hand carved it and it is so pretty that I have a hard time putting anything in it. :)

Wow, you gave me an idea for a story featuring an android who can touch but can't feel. Thanks for the prompt! I'm delivering today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-245-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-prototype

Thank you Wordymouth! I'm happy that you were able to get an idea from what I wrote! Have a lovely weekend!

You covered a lot in one freewrite! Yes, we ought not take our hands for granted. Ever.

Spoken by a woman who does a TON with her hands! :) Hope that you're doing well and that you aren't having any back aches. Thank you so much for stopping by! HUGS!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by brisby from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05