We Are Better Than This 2 : A More Than 5 Minutes Freewrite.

in #freewrite6 years ago

people-2575608__480.jpg
Source

They say those who live in glass house shouldn't throw stones, is it suppose to pertain only to those in glass house? Even those whose houses are made of steel, not even bricks this time, shouldn't dare throw stones. But I did, I've done that already before I could come to term with myself that am not only living in a house, but is made of glass.

Waking up that day was a blessing as each day was, you never can tell who wants you dead and will gladly rejoice at the news of your death in a corner. A godfather like me has got to fortify himself so well with different things, physical and spiritual, but still, I still live in fear of what might happens next.

I checked through my calendar to know who and what I might be expecting today.
10:00am : The former vice president's visit.
1:00 pm : Henry's arrival.

That kind of caught me unaware, yes, my only son is coming back home after six years of study in Oxford, am so proud of him now that he has made all of us proud in the field of architecture, coming out with a first class honour is such a feat am happy to add up to my cap of achievements.

Getting up from bed gradually to the bathroom to have some shower I could hear the noise from the downstairs increasing, though not of chaos but much more of greetings and shout for joy.
"Sweetheart, will you please go down stairs to check on what's happening?"
She hurriedly left despite her age and came back to tell me Henry is around. I knew I wasn't expecting him but since he's here now, good, I'll have to introduce him to to the former president who might help me fast track his ways into the government ministry. I waited patiently for him to come and greet his old man but this boy just wouldn't come up, is that what they were taught in school and I hope am not reaping the fruit of sending my son oversee to study where he might have lost his culture. I waited patiently till I heard a knock and hustle myself up.
"Sir, His Excellency Dr Agwayi is here"
Am already wondering why is everything running so fast here today, what in the name of God is happening and where is my son for Christ sake.

My steps to the gigantic visitors room I built for myself was in a haste and right before me was my son and Dr. Agwayi in deep conversation, laughing loudly like little children, I just don't know what an eight five years old man and a twenty-five years old boy could be talking about.

"Hmm, hmm " I coughed in to announce my arrival while my son hurriedly came to give me the papa greetings I've been expecting since he came in, but is now too late.
"What were you too discussing and laughing so loudly at, I want to come in, I love joke" I lied my way in.

"We were just reminiscing way back school days about the old and the new Oxford"
I lost interest immediately and settled for the real deal of the day which came in unannounced from where I wasn't expecting.
" I guess you've heard the news?"
"What again?"
"Everything is about to change forever in the hstory of this country "
I adjusted my seat closer on the lonely sofa am sitting on and kept my eyes fixed on Dr. Agwayi.
He just stared at me just like that, searching through my two eye balls for readiness to take in the next blow.

The above is my entry into @mariannewest every day freewrite.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

your post has been curated by the records accounts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45