Understanding Responsibility : Day 302: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

hands-981400__480.jpg
Source

Back then dad moves very quiet and slow when passing through the corridor in the night, just like a ghost, checking the doors and windows, making sure we are safe. He gently turns the door knob to check in the night. Years have passed and decades after I found out dad doesn't do that anymore but indirectly expect me to continue from where he stopped. He told me if I can't do this how will I be able to take care of my home as a man. He was right.

I started watching over my younger ones, making sure they lock there doors before sleeping, always warns my younger brother to switch off the light in his room because of the prepaid meter, he isn't using an energy saving bulb as he's incuring cost, make sure only the security lights were on, at times when the light comes on in the middle of the night because of we don't have a 24/7 light, I have to stand up to switch on the pumping machine and get us some water to last more than two days.

In all this some responsibility has been imbibed in me, I felt the burden to care for others and do away with lackadaisical attitude.

Along the line i've found that taking responsibility goes beyond what I thought, now I know better, its a sacrifice, a burden, a life of his own where you're saddled with watching over your people, making sure they are well ok, atimes sacrificing your own self for them. Isn't that what mothers do for there babies?. Despite all this, I still think I haven't learnt enough, the fact is, it's a life long lesson that has no end.

My entry into @mariannewest #freewrite.

Sort:  

A really good lesson your dad taught you. Proud of you on his behalf. You have a lot of typos and grammar issues in this article though. Please get someone to assist you with editing to clean it up. Keep using the bigwaves tag too. Cheers

#Bigwaves

Am so grateful for your sincere corrections ma, am working on it seriously.

Oh, you got that right. Life is a lifelong lesson - every day, something new :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56