The Betrayed Loyalty : Day 318: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

aircraft-62880__480.jpg
Source

I've been in the Air Force for decades now, with a supportive loving wife to my side, I must say, I need nothing else from this world. Decorated from every angle, every president that has lived in my circa has at one time or the other put some stars on my shoulder. Discipline and loyalty to my country has brough me thus far, nothing else.

The present political turmoil made some shakings to happen in every level, everyone was scared as hell as to what will happen next, the first world countries has been on our neck to end insurgencies soon, my president has embezzled this money, expecting more to come, aircraft of mighty capacities are left idle on the runway and withered as times goes on. Every part rust, not forgetting that this age technology moves faster than the speed of light.

So I muscled up one day with some of my air commander, we sought the president intervention and he felt the need too in sending some of our men for training and combat operations to sharpens there skill. With some funds to boost thing up. It was a welcome development.

But how we actually ended up in the grave was a surprise to me too, the sky was clear as we entered the military aircraft that brought us to the presidential palace, we all knew that and felt no trouble, till something went off while we were hundreds of feet above the ground, and before we could say our last prayer, we were all in flames, touching the ground as ashes.

My entry into @mariannewest #freewrite.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Wow! Dramatic ending and I do love the last line: "..say our last prayer, we were all in flames, touching the ground as ashes."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65921.21
ETH 2622.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69