My Experience With The Piano 🎹 : Day 253: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

grand-piano-787211_1280.jpg
source

I've tried all I could to learn the piano since I was fifteen, here I am close to thirty and am yet to get this thing, I don't know what's wrong, I've tried my hands on the guitar 🎸 too, all was in vain, my head bowed down in shame as I watch a little boy 👦, ten years old handling the church grand piano in such an excellent way.

I take solace in my God given voice, I sing the tenor part well, especially when I haven't taken a lot of cold water and those voice destroying foods. Exercise also helps too in making sure the voice is in good condition, drinking warm water also help too.

Last December during the christmas carols 🎄, I sang so well I was happy with myself. Trust me, it's good to listen to yourself once in awhile, if possible all the time.

As earlier said, I found out the piano isn't as hard as I thought it is, just play the do-re-mi-fa-so-la-ti-do.

piano-2897109_1280.jpg
source

In picking a chord which is made up of more than one notes, we have
do-mi-so-do'
fa-la-do-fa'
so-ti-re-ti'

I've tried playing the chord on so many occasions , sometimes when the church organist is busy I do help him with the back ground chord to songs.

It's also very important to know the note at which you are playing, if the choir is playing at an ordinary C, playing at any note below or higher than that will be disastrous. While playing it you'll know that too, on the keyboard keyboard the black notes are the sharp # of the notes before and the flat b of the note after.

All this makes music interesting, there are great music composer in Nigeria who specializes in classical songs, the likes of Alex Ekwueme, the legendary Jude Nnam and many more. Classical songs are found majorly in Catholics Church church these days, though some Pentecostal church are classical inclined, the likes of The Apostolic Faith. The only time I see church turning fully into classical music is when there is an Easter carol or Christmas carols.

Though so many people are learning how to play the instrument this days, the reason isn't far fetch, it fetches a lot of money money for them as new generational churches pay them to play in there church. Trust me, everyone wants to go to a church where everything "bubbles".

...

...

...

The above story is my entry into @mariannewest #freewrite challenge.

QmVpU1DEDeAhYQMch6azkeSYMSXf8SvsXQVbK98QqHmzQw.gif

  • Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him here and type in "steemgigs" in the first search box.
  • If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, on that same page type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
  • Support his other brainchild projects like #untalented, #steemgigs, #teardrops, #steemsecrets and #ulogs.

Thank You.

Sort:  

Woah I haven't played any instruments myself but have a keen interest in them, here in the sub-continent we have some amazing instruments that you can find interesting like the tabla and sitar.

Very nice to hear that from you, I have to google the instructment to know what it looks like. Impressive. Can you play them.

Just the very basics not too much but they sound great if an expert plays them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44