You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apple Farm - Freewrite #443

in #freewrite6 years ago

I'm fortunate to live in a party of Pennsylvania where there are several apple farms. In fact, several large ones. I believe this county in which I live is the fourth largest apple producing county in the U.S. My wife and I love to go and pick our own apples once a year at one of the local farms where that is possible. It's quite delightful. Kudos to your friends for taking a risk.

Sort:  

Sounds like a lovely place to be, being close to farming area one can escape for brief outings.

It's peaceful. I lived on a working farm for eight years before moving closer to Gettysburg, the nearest thing to a big city in Adams County. Harrisburg is just north of us, but it's in the next county up. And York isn't too far away. But Adams County is a throwback to the past. Idyllic in some ways.

Adams County sounds a delightful place, a slower life style, fresh air with wide open space. Living on a farm moving into more suburban area, you must notice the noise levels almost immediately, or visa versa suburbs to farms.

Alas our area grew so quickly around us, almost time to make a move to quieter pastures, something to ponder over.

Not quite suburban. Still rural. Just on the outskirts of G-burg in a little village most of the townies wouldn't be caught dead in. Although there is a road out front with heavier traffic, and I do hear that.

Sometimes, local areas do grow quickly. We have a subdivision going in up the road from us. I heard it will have 2,000 new living units. That's tremendous growth for us. It's a rather sizable plot of land. Has me a little nervous, but also somewhat excited as I hear there will be some commercial aspects to the development. I'm surprised our township even approved it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46