Day 122: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: Spa

in #freewrite7 years ago

Here's my Day 122: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Spa I really wasn't sure where I would take this one but I'm happy with where it ended up!



Image Source

I have never been to a spa before. I feel out of place. I just don't feel as if I belong. As I walk up to the doors my soon to be sister in law greets me at the entrance. She looks as if she would fit the part. Peals in place on the nap of her neck, earrings to match, not a hair out of place, with her diamond ring gleaming in the sunlight. My own catches my attention. I still can't believe I'm marrying him. My parents are ecstatic, but me? I'm really not sure.

"You're here!!" She squeals. Now, I'm not one for stereotypes. But Chloe is your typical trust fund baby, and so is her brother, the man I'm marrying. I didn't grow up that way. My parents had to fight for everything they have. I'm not one to judge them by this but Chloe, she will judge you for not having money. Funny how that works really. She hated me at first. I'm still leery around her.

"This really isn't me Chloe... can we just go get our nails done at the salon across the street?" I ask her fidgeting with my dress she insisted I wear. I look like a page out of a 50's magazine with my hair to match.

She laugh, "You have got to be kidding me. One nail?" She smirks and rolls her eyes while taking my hand, "No way." She says pulling me out of the warm fresh sunlight into the spa that smells like chemicals but with a hint of aromatherapy. I sigh as she walks up to the desk. I guess I better get used to living like this...

"Mrs. Wellington?" They call us in. I sigh and follow like the dutiful wife I'm bound to be... Is this my life now?

They place me in a bed of water and I am to sit back in this cocoon like bed with fake blue lights surrounding me. I begin to think back to more simpler times... of when it was just James and I, my best friend from childhood, running along the rocks of the creek, jumping in without a care in the world, laying on our back with the sun beating down on us... That is my type of spa. I miss those days... I miss spending so much time with James... His smile, his heart, his sweet, sweet laugh...

This isn't me... This isn't who I am... I am not the dutiful wife from money and luxury, I'm the girl at the cheek holding Jame's hand, laughing as we fall back into the water. I'm the girl floating along the warm water, the light reflecting off the waves he's making as he jumps from the side of the lake. I'm... Jame's girl.


I wish I could have continued it a bit more but that's the time! I hope you enjoyed!! I know I did :)

Visit @mariannewest and join the #freewrite community!

Use the Prompt
Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece

Want more info? Visit the introductory page

Bleedinheart

Sort:  

I have been in a few situations where someone was trying to get me to do something that just wasn't me. After a couple of bad experiences, I finally learned how to say no, forcefully if necessary.

Exactly. Me too! I tell them like it is if I have to. Anything to make them see I make my own choices.

Ah - decisions, decisions! It's perfect how it finishes: that open idea of how it all feels so wrong and she's making a mistake!! Well done!

Thank you!! Wasn't sure what I was going to do with it lol glad you liked it!!

True love always wins if you ask me! Awesome writing :)

Me too! No matter what, true love prevails! Thanks for reading!

This was wonderful!!!! I would love to see what happens!!! Thanks for sharing!

Thank YOU for reading! :) I'm glad you enioyed it!!

Hehe, the music I'm listening to had it's emotional crescendo in time with your writing. 'To think own self be true' ;) Will it be Mr. Wellington, the wealthy man of position, or Jame? lol. Great story! :)

The world may never know! Lol I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading!!

so very true not to be talked into things you really don't want to do <3 or call me and I'll beat them up for you hugs

hahaha. I don't very much anymore. In my past though I did let people take advantage of me (as I'm sure you know) but 4 years ago that all changed. You just have to change yourself because you can't change others, yanno? :) Love you!

So glad she figured out that James is the one. so many people do things which are not really for them

Sad, but very true. I know I have been guilty of it too, luckily I've learned my lesson! Thanks for reading!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61