You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Little beasts (weekend freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

"I was beyond crying, I had lost even that."

Man... the writing here is amazing @honeydue. I love the way you describe the beasts, "Because they were incredible beasts, creatures of great beauty, as well as great danger", the way they crawl from his head and are gone and then return, and he seems to have only a general idea of where they've been and what they've done. It's a surreal, not-really-in-his-control superpower, with that delicious kind of ambiguity that makes you want to keep watching it to see how it works and where it goes next.

And then there's the psychological dimension of it... the internal experience, and its reflection in outer reality, are very real to him, but if he were to tell anyone else about it it's unlikely that he would be believed, and possible that he could even be committed, medicated, etcetera.

To me this reads like the beginning of a really fantastic graphic novel. Like the ones Neil Gaiman used to write in the 90's. I could see it continuing from there through all kinds of convolutions in plot. What an interesting and tortured hero/antihero the protagonist makes!

Sort:  

Thank you, I think these are really the nicest words anyone has ever said (well, written) about my work :O I am so happy to read this! And you describe it so...well and so..I don't know, you just pay so much attention to detail, which I love, I mean even I learned a few things about the story reading your comment...

Reading back, I can barely recognize the words, strange how stories just leave your head once you write them down...

o me this reads like the beginning of a really fantastic graphic novel. Like the ones Neil Gaiman used to write in the 90's.

You have no idea how much this means to me. Neil Gaiman is one of my all time favorite writers. Ever. I've always considered him a master of crafting words and the comparison just fills my heart with joy <3
Thank you!!
Also, thank you for the resteem :D Much appreciated :)

Oh that's so awesome!!! I hesitated to make the comparison, because I'm always a little leary of doing that, not wanting to compare one artist's work to another's in case it turns out they don't relate... so I'm happy it fits. I really feel the resonance between his writing and yours! Big fan of both.

Somebody compared the vocals on one of my songs to early Robert Smith (The Cure) recently... He is one of my idols so I think I somewhat understand the feeling :D

I know, I'm often surprised by the words I've written, when I go back to them... weird feeling lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50