Bamboo - a stream of consciousness prose smidgen for Freewrite # 192: bamboo

in #freewrite6 years ago

Greetings fellow Steemians! Here is my 49th 5 minute freewrite. (Disclaimer: these usually take me more than 5 minutes to write). The prompt is "bamboo". Many thanks to @mariannewest for hosting this daily freewrite!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-190-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-bamboo



https://pixabay.com/en/korea-damyang-bamboo-forest-nature-2699930/

Bamboo


When I was a child I saw myself, outside of my body, running alongside the car as we drove. My second self jumped from tree to tree, soaring, catching, swinging from branch to branch, sometimes 360 degrees to propel himself forward, lightly stepping on several more in quick succession to keep from falling to the ground. When the trees ran out he would run run run and then jump...

and soar , come back down and do it again, caroming off boulders, scrambling up cliff faces, relentless, tireless, magical.

When I was a child I loved having stories read to me. It was one of my favorite things. But sometimes I listened to the stories and thought: this isn't right. We're supposed to be magic, not just read about it in stories.

Then I felt sad.

When I was an adult I saw the kind of magic evoked in martial arts films like "Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon", the characters leaping lightly from stalk to stalk in a bamboo forest, twisting effortlessly in air, balancing physicality with spirit. For a moment my heart leapt and I thought (hoped):

"Somebody else remembers".


©2018 Bennett Italia, all rights reserved.

horizontal rulers courtesy of @cryptosharon

IOW COLOR MAP.png


Sort:  

what kind of bamboo is this! in our country bamboo is not this type! but looking great 😎

I did the same thing!! So when I saw Crouching Tiger I had the same reaction.
From a fellow rememberer!

Hah! That's so awesome @sukhasanasister <3

I knew there had to be others ;)

This just reminded me - when I was a kid I actually thought I had a magic power. I could see through solid objects! In fact, it was boring old binocular vision, the way things appear to move if you look at them with one eye closed, and then the other... That was a real blow to 8-year-old me when I realised haha.

Great write mate, thanks for bringing up that memory for me :)

The one re-occuring theme in my dreams is when I remember I can fly. I get you:) Loved this write, Bennet:)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bennettitalia from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great read. I read 2 husbands but it was too old to upvote. You're doing great on your #freewrites. Keep up the good work.

Nice, very nice. I could picture everything you said clearly. Thanks for sharing your childhood visions and adventures @bennettitalia.

Everyone taught we have some magical power when we were young, mine then was I always taught I could fly everywhere.love this bamboo looking beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62108.99
ETH 2429.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64