Day 98 - 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: Round Is A Shape

in #freewrite7 years ago

He came home from school with the saddest eyes. I let him be. I knew he'd tell me eventually.

He kept his silence even when his sister started telling jokes. I can sense something was terribly wrong. I prepared snacks and called him to join me at the living room.

We just sat there with eyes glued to the TV but hearts wanting to talk. "Mom," he said. I felt relieved that I didn't have to ask. "My classmates kept calling me Koko-baboy (koko-pig) today." I asked him how he felt. He said he didn't know. My son is 8 and is a smart kid. One time, he saw my big and a little chubby cousin's picture captioned "Round is a shape." He asked what that meant. Now, he's asking if he's like my cousin or that if I think he's round. I told him he's too young to even bother.

The next day he came home with a well written paper about him being fat. He wrote, "It doesn't matter what my friends call me, my mommy still loves me whether I'm round or flat..."

imagemy son when he was 2

imageHim at present day

This is my entry to @mariannewest's 5 minute freewrite.

Thanks for reading!

Love,
John (and Jonah)

Sort:  

This post was very sweet. Gave me goosebumps reading it. All my life I thought I was fat then when I was too late I realize the whole time I have never been fat. That's so sweet advice wish I would have heard it when I was younger. Thanks for sharing.

I would never call someone fat or thin. We all have our struggles and it shouldn't be rubbed in by anyone.

At one point he said, should I go on a diet. I told him to do what makes him happy. Just make sure he shares what he has with me! Lol

Awe.... that is so cute... is this a true story?

Yes. It happened just last week. ☺️

Thats really awesome.. also originalworks is in an upgrade it isnt working until they finish

Oh, I didn't know! Thanks for the heads up!

Steem On!

Take some imaginary @teardrops (Smart Media Tokens)

Aww it is good to know that he vents out which promotes close family ties. Now what I would like to see is John putting on some weight. He eats one and a half rice every lunch time and doesn't gain a pound. Some guys get all the luck.

Dude, I'll send you a picture of him 3 yrs ago and you will see just how much weight he gained. Achievement nya na yan.

This post has received a 11.69% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @dreamingirwin. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62572.49
ETH 2444.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67