Day 134 - Prompt: "Plaid"

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Snowflakes-by-Russian-photographer-Alexey-kljatov-1.jpg
Image credit: Alexey Kljatov

This is my contribution for the Day 134 #freewrite prompt: "plaid".
See post here: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-134-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-plaid

First I must admit that I neither wrote this in 5 minutes nor did it without pausing, so I guess I'm breaking all the rules here, but I felt like sharing anyway. This is actually my very first attempt at writing fiction, so I hope it shows some potential at the very least. :)


     A snowstorm was raging outside. Delilah had heated up a cup of Earl Grey tea and curled herself up in her favorite red and black plaid. She sat there, on the freezing tiled floor, for nearly two hours, gazing dreamily through the kitchen window. The sun had already set, but luckily she could see the snow falling in the lit area under one of the street lamps. Many years had passed since she had last seen a single snowflake fall from the sky.
She tried to be present to the wonder happening before her eyes, but even the falling snow could not silence her buzzing mind. "We never really see the true beauty of anything," she thought, melancholically. With a sigh, she leaned back against the refrigerator door and closed her eyes for a few seconds. A faint smile appeared on her face. Tonight she would dream of a world where the snow shines of a white brighter than light itself.

Sort:  

I really like this a lot, I can picture the scene and feel the mood very clearly!

Thanks so much! Makes me want to keep trying. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85