"The Ultimate Travel Experience" | 5 Minute #Freewrite, Day 91

in #freewrite6 years ago

ABD_MMU_ag001234.jpg

You know, when I imagined time-travel, it was a lot more glamorous than this. I'd pictured myself creeping through the middle ages, sneaking into the Globe Theatre to see Shakespeare live... alive, that is. Disguising myself and taking a carriage down the silk road, keeping clear of war zones and otherwise hostile environments. It seemed like the ultimate travel experience.

That's how they advertised it: "The Ultimate Travel Experience"

I booked this trip months ago and have been preparing vigorously. All my vaccinations are up-to-date, I ordered period-era garb to make sure I blended in, I even replaced some of my meals leading up to my trip with a more acclimated diet of bread, pheasant, and ale. Do you know how hard it is to find pheasant in 2081?

The attendant at the transporter seemed absent-minded when I arrived. That was say, three days ago? There were many other travelers, some with children, and she seemed to just want me to load up and get gone. I told her, "I'm headed to England in 1620, to the Port of London." She nodded blankly. Port was a safe place to time-travel to because it was so busy and folks rarely cared what was going on around them.

I stepped up to the platform and began to feel a tingling sensation. "Is this normal?" I asked her.

"Mm hmm," she nodded. In a monotonous tone, she added, "Be sure to be back at your materialization space on your agreed-upon date. Keep your papers on you at all times, stay out of sight, and do not, under any circumstances, bring back souvenirs.

Thinking back to that moment, I wish I would've asked more questions. I wish I wouldn't spoken to a travel manager. Because here I am, bound and gagged, being jeered at by no less than forty very dirty, gangly pirates on a ship with no land in sight.

The sea of men parts before me and my heart jumps into my throat. I thought they only did this in movies. Two large, burly men walk up, each holding up one end of a long board. As the crowd jeers loudly, I can't help by think to myself... How did I get here? Where did I go so terribly wrong?

FREEWRITE-banner.jpg

Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png

Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

ORG_DSC02486.JPEG

To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and follow me for articles on slow living, sustainable fashion, self-expression, and quality curated resteems!

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Steem USA #TheAlliance #TeamGirlPowa

Sort:  

What a fun story!! And yes, by all means - work on it and turn it into a longer story - heck, why not a book. :)

What a great way with words and imagination a wonderful free write

Thank you @tattoodjay. I'm thinking I might want to expand this into a short story. Elaborating on the interim details between arriving in the past at the Port of London and then ending up on a pirate ship might be a fun rabbit hole to go down... 😂

OHh yes you could have such fun expanding the story and I hope you do :)

Oh, I love this story! Very well written~

YEAH! Nice storyline! If this were a novel, I'd keep reading. You've got a way with words, sistah. Keep writing! :)

Thank you! I am going to move forward with it and I will share the link in a comment on this post. 🤓

This is, indeed, lovely prose and a fantastic story. Good to sort of meet you!

What a great story!!! :D I hope you make it longer too!!

Today I am the delivery of links puppet. While 3/4th asleep I cannot be witty. ❀ Here is today's prompt!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-91-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-earthquake

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47