First Freewrite Prompt - Stetson

in #freewrite7 years ago

law-postcard.jpeg

I grew up in a small, unincorporated neighborhood between St. Petersburg and Gulfport, Florida. Two small cities, both with a little claim to fame. Just a short distance from my house in the town of Gulfport stood a stunning college called Stetson University, a satellite Law school to a larger organization. The campus was only a few buildings crafted in elegant Spanish style, painted bright creamsicle with mature banyan trees snaking their roots all over.

On a solo longboard ride near the campus, it seemed especially empty. The sun was setting, hot and orange over this quiet castle. Dashing quickly through the inner-campus sidewalks, I spied a door ajar.

Inside was an expansive Spanish-tiled room. You could've held a ballroom dancing competition inside. In the closest left corner to my field of view stood a stunning, if aging, grand piano. I looked around - not a soul in sight. Not even a door that could creak open and surprise a vigilante musician should they dare.

Just before my timer sounded to come home for dinner, I sat down at the bench, laid my hands on the keys, and played...

• • •

and then my real-life writing timer was up! Thank you for this memory-inducing prompt. I look forward to freewriting again soon!

In case you're curious, this is what the college looks like today --->

DSC_1245.jpg

Sort:  

What a lovely piece of writing! Love your descriptions—crisp and rich, bringing me right into the scene. Did you get this writing prompt on Steemit or elsewhere?

I did get the prompt here! Check out @mariannewest - host of the daily #freewrite challenge.

I love, love, love this! You definitely have the talent for writing, no doubt at all in my mind! 👍

Really good work, I hope you'll keep it up

I'm standing in for Marianne today. Here is the link to today's prompt if you want to get going

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-83-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-nose-ring

Beautifully written and welcome to the freewriters!
And love that you had a different take on Stetson!

My university! I may have heard you play the piano haha. I lived on that campus for three years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.44
ETH 2350.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52