Day 29: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: great-grandpa's nose

in #freewrite7 years ago


Image source

I have seen it many times, the twitching of great-grandpa's nose. I wonder why was it so, it only happened at specific times, during petrol stations and Barbecues. I wondered why and so one day I asked him about it. He gestured to me to sit down on his leg and told me a tale that I will not forget. During World War 2, my great grandpa was tasked with clearing out an enemy stronghold. It was built around some very important resources, mainly oil rigs.

Throughout the skirmish, great-grandpa was tasked with storming the enemy stronghold which was defended by a machine gun and storming it would be suicide. Luckily there were some oil barrels lying around and under the cover of night, great grandpa and his team went behind enemy lines, emptied the oil barrels around some of the enemy positions and lit them on fire. As the machinegunner was distracted, they took that position and boxed the enemy in. As the enemies were boxed in, the smell of burning flesh filled the night air. It was a mixture of petrol and burning flesh that my great grandpa remembers till this day.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.83 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@steem-marketing has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

sir you are the best writer your writing contain the msg

Thanks, appreciate it

Those memories being brought back at petrol stations and barbecues would make my nose twitch too. Great story. Tip!

It would, appreciate the tip! You sir, have just given me my first tip!

My pleasure! I am a Miss...LOL! : )

woops.. my bad, I was using an expression.. so sorry

Not a problem...really! : ) :) : )

👍I follow you .👉you Follow me👌

Thanks for the next prompt. There are some elements of truth in it, but I try to make it story worthy

Welcome in the freewriters community, and thanks for your short story!

I follow you ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78