5-minute Freewrite: Prompt- Dude

in #freewrite6 years ago

man-540500_1280.jpg
Source

So I got to know this guy from gym class, he's a year older than us but he got deferred for a year in studies because his exam results were unsatisfactory. Eddie is always cool and friendly, and he doesn't pick friends. You'd see him hanging out with practically anyone, from the jocks to the nerds and the social introverts. He just has a way of relating with people.

Whenever he's around, he'd greet people with the biggest smile and say, "hey dude, wassup?" and people would instantly light up. He wasn't particularly good looking, nor was he rich and famous, but wherever he went people would welcome him with open arms.

I am personally an introverted person, but I have to admit I feel rather comfortable chatting with him, we could talk about almost anything under the sun.

One day I asked him how he'd easily get so chummy with anyone he meets. He said, "well, nobody's perfect. I just thought everybody could use a friend, no matter their status and background. And... I'll let you in on a secret; realise how I always greet people with 'dude'? It's because I don't know their names." He let out a big goofy laugh.

"I hope you remembered mine?" with my eyebrows raised.

"Dude, you're funny!" and he laughed even louder.

divider-1024.png
20180212_193505.png

SMbannersmall.png

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

banner_steemsugars.jpg

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

hahaha - I can so much relate! I used to have a store and called everyone hun or dear because I couldn't remember anyone's name....

Hahaha!! I guess this trick is quite widely used. Can't go wrong with them 😂

Lol - dude, that's a funny story! ;) I'm bad with names as well. :)

Hahaha tell me about it! Me too lol

Ha! Eddie sounds like a good guy with a great outlook on talking with people. Your ending was too funny, thank you!

Your prompts are ready!
image via pixabay

Weekend Freewrite 4/21/18 - Single Prompt Option

Weekend Freewrite 4/21/18 - Part 1 - The First Sentence

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Haha thanks, I loved the ending too. Eddie sure is a guy with a good sense of humor!

So now I must ask, was this fiction or based on actual events? Either way it was well-written, but if it was fiction, you wrote it in a very believable way!

Hahaha it's fiction! I think most people wouldn't actually dare ask Eddie if he'd remember their names for fear of making everybody feeling awkward, I know I won't. I may just subtly mention my name again the next time I meet him so that he'll remember it 😂 thanks, glad you enjoyed the story!

Aha, the extrovert is always able to move freely in social circles. My Jeff is that way, but in stores he uses everyone's name tags and strikes up a lively conversation.

Yes, name tags are very helpful! I'm sure many would find Jeff warm and thoughtful, say hi to Jeff for me! :) Xx

Oh good, a humorous story! I've been reading some of the ones you listed in the over20club post, and they have been sad and scary!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95