'Wait For it to Begin': a Poem – Response to @mariannewest's 'Carnival' PromptsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

This is my first post since the insanely challenging, yet beautifully mind-expanding experience that was #FreewriteMadness / #NaNoWriMo. Today, I'm easing myself back into the writing game with this short little poem – a brief reflection on childhood expectation and wonder – which was inspired by @mariannewest's recent writing prompt, carnival. Enjoy! 😊

Wait For it to Begin

Wait.

Let the sun beam on your face
Lighting up puddles on the path ahead
That break and ripple under the sudden

THUD!

of your fresh new wellington boots
The ones your aunt gave you
With a smile and a squeeze of your hand

We're all dressed up for the carnival
For the tumult
The colour and noise
The spectacular sensation
That fills your young mind with wonder

Wait for it to begin.

Image Source
123rf.com

Sort:  

Wow! I wish I could write like you do.

Constant practice is the key. 😊 The more you write, the more your work improves. When I first started writing, my work really wasn't good at all! 😂 Thank you for the sweet comment, @shanedustin.

Your welcome. You have talent. I think one day I'll be seeing your name on books. Keep at what you are doing, it's awesome.

That is so sweet of you to say – thank you very much!

Great to see you back in the saddle my sweet Aisling. Wonderful memories. 💕

Thanks Bruni! I'm starting to edit my book now, so hopefully that goes well. 😅

Not me, neither did any of my kids, they all feel unhappy and embarrassed too... but I like your poem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50