'The Donkey' - Response to a Freewrite Prompt

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my response to a recent freewrite prompt by @mariannewest: “100 year old donkey.” This prompt brought to mind the Biblical story of the donkey who is said to have carried a heavily pregnant Mary to a place where she could safely give birth to Jesus. When I was in school, we used to sing about him and the plight he endured, trudging through a hot and dusty land, carrying ‘his precious load.’

So I’ve made up a little poem about the journey the donkey is said to have taken, written from his perspective! He’s a sassy, grumpy old man who is deeply unimpressed by the job he’s found himself having to do – I love it. 😂

––––––––––––––––

Dried tufts of grass
Heat-encrusted ground
Blinding light
The rust
The dust
Mile after mile
Step after step

And time
Running like the sand
That beats against my brow
My legs
My eyes
Mile after mile
Step after step

My load is precious
So they say.

But they don’t know
How much they weigh.

Image Source: Disney

Sort:  

Love it especially with Eyeoor my favourite donkey 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Eeyore is fabulous 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha! Maybe that's why I have yet to meet a donkey I liked - they never seem happy! I have a friend who thinks they are adorable and I can not understand that.

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-634-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-filthy-blinds

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Hey beautiful. It's always good to see you around ♡

Thank you @tezmel! I'm not on Steemit very often, but I like to pop up now and then. 😉 I hope you are well!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44