Freewrite Poem: 'Your Solace '

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

You never believed that solace was in sight:
It's not our way, your conscience said.
Our way is the path of fortitude:
We are the rock that never bends for the wind,
Even when tempest and disaster strike.

Our way is the path of the tireless warrior:
Ever-sacrificing, ever-selfless,
Ever ready to place ourselves
Into the line of fire
And never complain of our burns.

We are the rock that stands still always:
The shelter
The strength
The solace
For those who cannot stand alone.

You never believed that solace was in sight
But now, as the sun sets

You fall to your knees
And let the fading rays
Drench your face
Your shoulders
Your trembling hands:
Weakened by the howling winds
For whom you could never bend,
Never break,
Never succumb,
For you were a Guardian.

The Guarded Ones whisper:
You were my solace
My strength
My shelter
When I had none
So now:
Go.
Find your joy.

Your solace.

Devoted to the carers of this world, with inexpressible gratitude and admiration.

_________

This was a response to today's freewrite prompt, "redemption", by @mariannewest. The picture is mine.

Sort:  

I'd like to chose joy more often than I do currently.

Indeed, a beautiful poem to show gratitude to the carers of the world. :)

Hereby, I am delivering the next prompt to you, here it is, check it out! It is 'pumped.'

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I felt such deep emotion reading this poem. Truly needs more exposure. I love what you did with the prompt redemption.

Thank you @wandrnrose7! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69