5 Minute Freewrite - 'Freedom Is...'

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Freedom is...
Running on the beach,
Carefree as a child in the glorious heights of summer,
Shouting and hollering your joy to the four winds,
Without a care for who may be watching.

Freedom is...
The first moment of the school holidays:
Bursting out the gate,
Racing your friends down the street,
Laughter in your throat
And the light touch of liberty in your steps.

Freedom is...
The absence of the cares that weigh you down now:
The bills,
The deadlines,
The adult concerns that smother the child within:

The child who runs down the beach
– sand between their toes,
Freedom in their souls,
Not a care for who might be watching.

Freedom is waiting for you.

____________

This was a response to today's freewrite challenge by @mariannewest. I took the picture. 🙂

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

@aislingcronin Thanks for sharing, I enjoyed it!

The perennial question of our adult life is how to recover that carefree freedom of childlikeness.

Any thoughts?

Thanks @joeylim. Recovering the carefree attitude of childhood is never easy ... I think that as we get older and learn more about the corruption, the self-centredness and the nastiness so prevalent in this world, acquiring a certain degree of cynicism is inevitable. I remember this as one of the most disappointing lessons of my adolescence: finding out that many people in politics, on the world stage, and even within my own life were not as kind or trustworthy as I would have liked them to be. That is a harsh introduction to adulthood that every young person must grapple with, in some form or another, and it always leaves a mark on our psyches. With that being said, I do often experience moments of childlike joy: when I'm laughing with loved ones, immersed in a project that holds great meaning for me, or enjoying the beauty of nature. They are the moments where I forget about whatever concerns might be on my mind at that time, and I allow myself to just be. ❤ They are the moments that make life worthwhile.

@aislingcronin yeahh... I feel you.

As a young adult, this is a lesson I'm still grappling with. How to have a healthy cynicism so as to survive and not get ripped open by wolves and yet a large dose of innocence to live in childlike wonder, joy and trust (because too much cynicism kills all of that).

Still figuring out how to "regain" innocence, so to speak while being aware of the corruption.

The struggle is all too real!

I love this taste of freedom. Beautiful!

Congratulations. You are featured at the Freewrite House
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/poetry-digest-23

I felt that
Felt the wind in hair
Sand in my toes
And lightness
No adult weightage hahaha
Nice one :D

Congratulations! This post is featured in our Poetry Digest.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/poetry-digest-edition-twenty-five

I will look for a more recent post for an upvote :)

Thank you so much! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58