Too often we judge and what gives us the right to??

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

war-953246__480.jpg

This eye has seen things, no eye should see. The soul beneath charred, burdened, scarred. Yet, human nature, a willingness to overcome unimaginable hurdles and sheer strength of character had allowed them to escape the clutches of the megalomaniacs that brought tyranny to their homestead. She is now an only child, but it was not always this way. Her two brothers were killed on front of her, when her Father's surgery was massacred. He remains in hospital 2000 miles away.

Only Yana and her Mother escaped on the boat that night. They crossed the Med in an overcrowded boat and managed to seek refuge in Europe as refugees. Weak with hunger, and with pain in their eyes, they reached their destination. They had dreamed many times on the treachorous journey about this safe haven. Yana had perfect English, but her Mother spoke only Arabic.

Yana listened to the well dressed strangers and passersbys.

"Lazy scroungers looking to live on handouts"

Came one.

"Migrants just looking to steal our jobs and milk the system"

Came another.

"They should go back where they came from"

Said another.

Yana's mother turned to her:

"What are they saying my love?"

She paused and then kissed her forehead saying:

"They are welcoming us Mama. Everything is going to be ok"

A single tear rolled down her cheek, as she pondered which was worse, to have gone through what they had at the hands of pure evil or to be vilified without justification by educated strangers in this new land.

I guess we all subconsciously judge people every day, but we should pause for thought every now and again before we cast our aspersions. Put yourself in their shoes, whoever and wherever they are.


This is my entry into @mariannewest's freewrite where the prompt was helpless

The prompt post can be found here and there's a new one everyday.

The picture is not mine and was taken from here

Peace Out,

@ablaze

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this!! it is so relevant - because that is the conversation we are hearing so often and I feel we have lost our humanity. We only apply compassion to those who look and are just like us.
I really thought that by now, we would be better than that!

Thanks as always for your kind words @mariannewest

You are right though, we have certainly lost some of our humanity and compassion, so it is up to you and me and others like us to show people how to be compassionate and humane again. Like anything, it is habit, and the more people see you and me and others show these traits, the more likely they are to reciprocate... But, the problem is that the Media sell their wares on a wave of fear and scaring people into thinking everyone is out to get them..

But keep fighting the good fight, I can tell you are one of the good ones!

This freewrite is so touching and sad. It needs to be written. What a harsh world we have to live in.

Thanks so much for taking to the time to read @wandrnrose7

The prejudice and inequality that prevails the world is indeed sad, but I truly believe there are enough good people to overcome the negativity, we just need to be more vociferous and call people out.. There is so much good in the world, and so much to be thankful for, I just wish more people would wake up and smell the flowers..

You're welcome. I agree with you on all points.

This is pure empathy and I hope it's contagious. Sigh.

Perhaps today's prompt will inspire something dreamy.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-292-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-overslept

Thank you very much for those kind words @eyedreemit

Positivity like negativity is contagious... Did you ever notice how a negative person can drain the energy from a room.. The same is true of positivity, and it is something I try to instill into everything I do... I try and give everyone a fair chance, until they give me a reason to think otherwise..

Like everyone though, I am guilty of judging, but by being aware that I do it, it makes me more aware and less inclined to judge..

Oh my, this is so sad, @ablaze :/ Really made me think. Very well done.

Thank you @honeydue... It is sad, but all we can do is our own little bit to give everyone a fair chance... Those close to us will see how we behave and hopefully take a leaf from our book..

One thing I am bad at is calling people out, when they are prejudice, sexist etc... That is something I must improve on, but it is difficult for me, as I avoid confrontation wherever possible..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54