You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Home alone, a five minute free write

in #freewrite6 years ago

Fantastic nostalgia. I must say, I agree with you, I too think kids are over-parented these days. The media like to keep us fearful and the papers and the news on tv is always peppered with the worst of society. As you rightly point out, these crimes have always taken place, but we are more aware now in this information-age.. We all walked to and from school back in the day and it was about a mile away, and we used to have so much fun on those walks, acting the maggot away from adults eyes, but never anything bad, just innocent mischief... Given the choice of growing up now or growing up when I did, I would take my youth every single time.. I feel for the youth of today who are constantly reminded of how good they have it... I don't see it that way for them... We have to break the cycle of molly-coddling and babying our kids, or the next generation will not thank us for it..

Sort:  

Unfortunately, I think we're too far down the opposite path to ever find our way back. We seem to have accepted the interference of authorities in every aspect of our lives and the next generation will have no idea what it was to live without surveillance, suspicion and fear of their neighbours.

Definitely.. The amount of red tape for everything these days is gone beyond a joke... We went from one extreme to the other, instead of finding a nice balanced middle ground.. The keys around the neck reminds of my Granny... She used to carry her keys around her neck as she was always losing them :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59249.03
ETH 2543.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37