In the blink of an eye

in #freewrite6 years ago

baby-22194_1280.jpg

He opened his eyes slowly. He felt he had overslept. Where was his wife and newborn baby boy?

Strange surroundings hit his retina as he surveyed the room. The hand holding his, he vaguely recognised, like he had seen him someplace before, but he couldn't quite place him. The other man was in a deep sleep with a blanket on his knees.

He looked around the room and came to the conclusion that he was in a hospital bed, but had no idea why?

The man's hand tightened and loosened in quick succession and then he awoke startled. The men locked eyes for an eternal moment.

"You look..... just like.... my baby boy!"

He said puzzled.

"Dad, it's me. I have waited for this day all my life! The doctors thought we were mad to keep the machine on, but we simply couldn't turn it off. Dad you've been in a coma for twenty two years"

Explained his son.

"I thought I'd overslept!"

He said.

"I suppose you did in a way.."

He said with a half smile.

Just then the door swung open and the love of his life walked in..

She was visibly shaken, yet ecstatic, a spectrum of human emotion swept across her like a rainbow, then they embraced, all three of them.


This is my entry into @mariannewest's freewrite where the prompt was overslept

The prompt post can be found here and there's a new one everyday.

The picture is not mine and was taken from here

Peace Out,

@ablaze

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43