Update to Weekly Steem Giveaway! Now Prize Comes With Option for Steem Basic Income Shares!

in #freesteem6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys! This is just an update to my weekly Steem giveaway! You now have the option to either accept your reward in Steem or an equivalent in Steem Basic Income Shares! Since SBI buys you and me a share, I'll sponsor the winners two times their Steem prize to make it equivalent! Learn more about SBI here

Basically, if you win 5 Steem, you can choose to accept 5 Steem OR 10 Steem Basic Income Shares (worth 5 Steem)!

What's this giveaway for?

This contest is mainly for two reasons, for me to gain some more followers and for minnows to have more motivation. The first reason is quite obvious so let me explain my second point.

To be a valid entry, you must be "active". This means that you must have posted or commented a total of 5 times in the last week. This is not a hard ask for someone who is actually active, it's less than one per day! Furthermore, you must NOT be a bot or spammer, which I will decide based on my personal discretion.

This aims to help community engagement by promoting being active. Furthermore, it also aims to help keep minnows active who may be lacking financial incentive as they're getting very low post rewards.

Next prize

Therefore, the prize pool jackpots again so next week's prize will be a minimum of 11+2 Steem!

This week's structure will look like this

  • 0-100 new followers: 2 Steem + jackpot split between 2 person
  • 101-200 new followers: 3 Steem + jackpot split between 3 people
  • 201-350 new followers: 5 Steem + jackpot split between 4 people
  • 351-500 new followers: 10 Steem + jackpot split between 5 people
  • For each post over $25 payout - paid upvotes from bots, I will put an extra 1 Steem in the prize!

How to enter

  • Follow me
  • Be active on Steemit
  • That's all! If you're active, you're automatically in it with a chance to win every week!
  • What does this mean??
    Basically have at least 5 posts/comments in the last 7 days.
    If the winner isn't active, the prize will jackpot to next week's!
    (New rule) If an account wins the prize that I deem it be a bot or spammer, the prize will jackpot to next week's! However, if the user contacts me about the situation, I will reconsider.

Some stats

  • Giveaway Number: 4
  • Followers at the start of week: 1301
  • Current followers: 1353
  • Current Prize: 2 Steem + jackpot between 1 person
  • Jackpot: 11 Steem
  • Total Prize given out: 0 Steem

Some Thoughts

The last 5 people who were randomly chosen to win this competition have ALL been inactive. It really gets me thinking how many people out of the 1301 followers are actually active. It does make sense the majority are inactive though. If 10% of people who see my content comment, and the posts I don't promote with bid bots get around 3-4 comments, only 30-40 of my followers are active. Therefore, it's likely that only 1 for every 32 people are active. At this rate it's gonna take us 16 weeks before the prize is finally given out to one person! Hopefully we have some winners next week haha

Want to sell your vote for about 30% ROI per year PLUS the freedom to stop selling at anytime without waiting 1 week to get your delegation back? Sign up to Minnowbooster here!

OR read more about it here

Sort:  

A large chunk of my followers are spam and bidbots unfortunately. The spam bots all have a 25 rep, post videos and make no comments. I had over 20 of them start following me the other day within minutes for some unknown reason. I wish there was a way to block them from following me..

Ikr... it makes the "following" number look very inflated. I wish there was a way to tell your number of active followers and the number of followers who actually upvote my content and comment haha

I mute the ones I know are bots so I can tell at a glance who are real people, when I look at the list.

I've noticed it too. Everytime I post a new content, there will be 5 or more new followers which happened to follow me at the same time. I checked some of then and they are exactly like what you have stated. Strange.

Yeah, the same thing happens to me when I post. I sometimes will get different ones who don't follow me voting on my posts with no real value.

I don't usually mind about people voting without no value. For me it's a sign that they might as well interested in your post or something. I can say they are real people but they are also like me who upvotes at 100℅ but still does not have any value since my SP is too low. 😂 But what is great about it is the support they gave. Keep on steeming! There are still a lot of surprises here that we will meet in the future.😂 God bless you.😊

I have no problem with votes with no value from real people. It means someone appreciates my work. I just dont like the ones from spam bots..

@paradigm4 ~ I have the same situation happening with a chunk of followers signing up at the same time. I don't understand what they get out of it.

@cryptoeater, this post by @steembasicincome shows graphs of users who interact with each other.
https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@steembasicincome/5xx38r-steem-basic-income-enhanced-votes-graphs

You can also go to the website mentioned in the post and put your own steemit id in, and it shows some interesting relationships.
http://www.steemreports.com/votes-graph-enhanced/?accounts=

Thank you for the links, I will definitely check them out. It is a really frustrating issue. It seems like the platform is being flooded with these spam accounts..

I know. But the graphs on that site show that there ARE inter-connections being made. Plug in your own user name and you'll see.

Sure I’ll check you out

I will be joining from next week. This week, i got exam to participate.

If you've made 5 posts/comments this week and followed me, you're already in the giveaway!

Ohh....Then I am already in. Thanks..

But, i do not achieve the targeted follower in this time. 😖

Whats the contest ??

Sorry I've phrased it badly, I've rephrased it now! It's not a contest, it's simply a giveaway. You just follow me and be active and you have a chance to win!

Ohh kk sure

I am active, but generally I only write 1 article in 2 days.
But I will try to write 5 articles in 1 week.

good luck, it says "Basically have at least 5 posts/comments in the last 7 days." so i guess that means comments count too

I love giveaways. Who doesn't?

Interesting this iniciative. May I participate? Because I write in Spanish more than anything

I am following you already. So we'll see how it goes, who knows, maybe I might be chosen this time. If I were to be chosen I would definitely choose the second option, in that way we are both benefiting. I like the sound of that. I also find it quite discouraging that there would be such a big margin between active people and possible bot followers.

This sounds interesting count me in!

These bots everywhere blind yours eyes to the number of real people around. It kind of fuck up too, everytime I post something I automatically get comments and upvote from some bots that ain't worth anything and the comments totally unrelated to the post. It kinda sucks!
But hey, we all have to keep trying it might break out one day. Am in!

Let the steem lead you right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17