Free Technology

in #freessoftware7 years ago (edited)

Definitions of Freedom: Free Technology

illuminatifacebook.jpg

Hello! So in this post I want to go over a brief definition of Free Software. Like Anarchism in my last post, I see a couple of similar cases. In fact, I have the same outline as I did in this video. Technology and politics threaten each other, and this must be considered for censorship, private, surveillance, and net-neutrality. I thank SteemIt and its developers for bringing something closer to this goal for me to share this message.

Definition


A program is free software if users have all of these freedoms:
-The freedom to run the program, for any purpose.
-The freedom to study how to program works, and adapt it to your needs.
-The freedom to redistribute copies so you can help your neighbor
-The freedom to improve the program, and release your improvements to the public, so that the whole community benefits.

Simply enough. Why don't all software have this? Well because some people want to protect their labor, just like when someone writes a book. However, the security implication that comes with non-free software causes too much trouble.

"Restrictions"


Like anarchism, instead of adding to society, Free Software Advocates plans to remove what they find wrong. They want to restrict ones use of proprietary software due to the possible evil software of proprietary software.

People

  • Richard Stallman (see video below)
  • Linus Torvalds

Resources

Range Of Commitment

  • Proprietary: Closed source, large possibility of malicious intent
  • Open-Source: You can see the code, but does not imply Freedom
  • Free Software: Not the best UX, but brings freedom to its users

Thanks Lovely Family!

I do not have a 100% understanding of the movement, technical and non-technical. However, I practice what I preach and run a Free Software operating system. If you have any questions please ask! Thank you!

Sort:  

Really good article, i'm from the Haute Ecole de Gestion (HEG) in Geneva.
I retweet, resteem, upvote and comment this post. Also I you and follow you because I really like your posts, good job!
Je parle francais aussi si tu préfère....

Hey @jimy74 ! I really appreciate it, It feels encouraging to me. I just got started so I plan on getting better and having better quality. Thank you! :)

No parle francais, merci!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87