Why I Went Freelance

in #freelance7 years ago

Ok this blog may be a little informal but lets do this. One thing you may not know about me unless you know me personally...i am disabled with petit mal epilepsy. I also have depression, anxiety, and diabetes. I decided to go freelance when all the jobs i was able to do were customer service. I was working with big companies and doing other peoples work to make money. I have been a baker, a door to door sales person, a secretary, an electronics clerk, a customer service rep, and I even worked as a daycare provider. But, I have always been good at working for myself. I am a damn covincing salesperson. I can sell anything. I could sell ketchup popsicles in white gloves and make money if that were a thing. Starting up a small business takes a lot of work. And search engine algorithms suck. And social media is expensive. So after many failed attempts at trying to figure out what i wanted to be when i grow up...I started blogging and working on Fiverr. Now im npt suggesting Fiverr, their algorithms have changed. I suggest ginding the high profile freelance sites. Like freelancer and upwork.

facepalm-ernie.jpg

The freelance gih sites are "saturated" with a variety delusional people. Everybody and thier brother thinks they can make logos. And the crap template software makes logos all look the same. Try mentioning adobe to them. They dont know how to usr it. These are the ones who think because they went to graphic design school they are magically a designer. You have to learn multiple programs inside out. One software does you no justice. I never finished an associate's or bachelors in design. My expertise is communications and human behavior. I dont know how well they apply in the design world. Im self taught and i like it that way.

rsz_mr_burns_evil_7487.gif

Ok so let's get on with the point already you're probably saying to yourself huh? Here's my point and dont worry it's short. If you have a passion then follow it. Your passion can do wonders for you with the right niche. A good example is green screen work, virtual clown or magician, or whatever. Just be creative. I only went for a design degree completing about 70% of the coursework. I allowed the books and youtube to help teach me.

download.jpg

If you have a business that can all be done virtually, then start a blog, website, podcast...or whatever. If you're musically inclined then create music and sell it on soundcloud, spotify, and other places. If you're good at teaching then give udemy and skillshare a try. If you have a knack for storytelling and can write a good story sell it on kindle, nook, playster...etc. If you make great handmade goods then Etsy has you covered. Think about it...Google, Yahoo, Apple, Facebook, Snapchat and others couldn't got as big as they did eithout taking risks. Whatever you're good at why not use it as currency.

images.jpg

Going freelance in a virtual world like this allows you to choose your hours. There is not a day that goes by where I questioned my decisions. As Metallica once said in the song Carpe Diem Baby, "live to win and dare to fail. Eat the bullet and bite the nail". Whatever you're good at just take a risk. Once you eork for yourself, you will never want to work under a boss again. Just remember to always try multiple things to make a passive income. Anyone can do it. If you have questions leave a comment.
1291131680_two-thumbs-up.jpg

bitmoji-20170622043432.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44