Being a Young Artist Today

in #freelance7 years ago (edited)

I'm usually just sharing images of my artwork, but I've decided to take a more personal approach to these posts. Growing up in a world where we can reach any source with the push of a button, you'd think it would be quite simple to thrive as a young artist, yet this is a common misconception that I find myself even realizing. I've always had an optimistic view point on life, that if I put my mind to it anything is possible and I truly believe if I put every once of effort into something I will be successful. Although, it is very easy to push this view aside when you take in criticism and fill your head with self doubt.

As many young adults I struggle with putting my thoughts into words and even if my art may not say something directly it is some point of release; clarity. Hours can pass at a time and something will be on a page I'm not exactly sure how I created (on a good day) it or if it was even my hand that did. I think many artists have these ideas that we must follow certain guidelines of our "masters" to be successful at what we do, but I feel that the whole point of art is to erase those guidelines that control the general public. The beauty of art is that not one piece is exactly the same and that goes for the artist as well. Some people have themes, organization, color schemes, and others do not. It's all a point of preference. I may just feel the need to argue to rebel against anyone of authority, but please share your thoughts on the matter if you care to!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51