Pursuing a Growth Path from Freelancing

in #freelance6 years ago (edited)

My adventures as a freelancer started in 1995. After giving my first public talk on "planning an enterprise-wide email systems" at a Connect World conference in Manila, a computer magazine editor asked if I would like to write about my topic.

While working on it, I was wishing my article will be interesting enough for someone to get me as a consultant. I really wanted to become an I.T. consultant at that time.

Within a month after article publication (there was no online edition yet then), I got an email from a conglomerate's holding company senior person (a special assistant to the president) who needed someone to prepare a study recommendation on which groupware to adopt as an upgrade to their ccMail network implementation.

That was my first consulting gig monetizing the knowledge gained from my previous full-time job on setting up a Unix-based enterprise e-mail system.

I was amazed how your skills communicated through writings, especially if you peg yourself as a person sharing knowledge - not a reporter covering an event - can open opportunities.

From then on, I focused on getting writing opportunities by reading various publications and contact editors expressing my interest to write for them. Those who liked my previous writings sent an email back and gave me a chance. Some I did well while some I performed poorly.

The most lucrative writing assignment I got pays at $1 per word (minimum of 1,000 words).

Despite having modest Internet from 1995 to 2000, connecting at 14.4 kbps to 56 kbps, I survived doing article writing with email -- functioning as client communication, forum engagement, file storage tool, among others.

In 1997, I fell in love with e-commerce and its life changing potential. I also saw a future for myself beyond from being a freelance writer, technology speaker, and consultant.

digitalfilipino-book1.jpg

I came up with DigitalFilipino.com on September 16, 1999 as I thought of writing and publishing my first e-commerce book. I gradually shifted from writing for others to focus on writing about e-commerce related topics on my site.

My research, teaching, speaking, consulting, and writing skills, from a service rendered to clients, was my tool in building DigitalFilipino.com and still active today. I speak, teach, train, coach, facilitate, mentor on e-commerce, influencer marketing, branding, and leadership.

You can create a website or blog or join freelancing platforms to publish your profile, offer your services, take certification exams, and competitively bid on projects. Use your site or blog to showcase what you are capable of. Talk about the service you offer and how you can help them.

Don't be afraid to ask if "working together" opportunities are available. Ask to be referred if they encounter potential opportunities where you may qualify.

Opportunities are available to everyone working smart and hard enough pursuing them -- while continuously building relevant skills.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43