How I Quit My Job To Become a Full Time Freelancer

in #freelance7 years ago

September 2016, I received a message from a Chinese Guy regarding the opening of a Job Profile in his company. The salary offered was more than my expectations so I told him to wait for a couple of days till I think about the offer again.

What happened next changed my life forever

I went for the interview, turned out it was a Chinese GPS Trackers Manufacturer company who needed me as a SEO Executive in their company. Overjoyed by the successful interview, the package offered to me was quite enough to hold me for years to come.

As they were a startup in my country, I didn't expect the management to be very professional. And I was right. Let alone the professional part, there was no management at all. It was just me, my senior and the guy who messaged me up for the interview.

But who knew that this job would be a turning point in my life and would convert me to what I am today.

And then began my 9-5 journey

A few days of my job went just fine. Everything was sound and good till I got hit by what changed my life forever - Exploitation and Office Politics.

It would sound very common to all the 9-5 employees out there, but for me it was something that made me realize my potential.

My Job as a SEO Expert

My job was to do SEO on the company's website and do regular reporting. But the tasks given to me were totally outside my field. I was told to make 1 - 2 websites every month for the company in the same amount of salary and not to mention the deadlines.

Not that I didn't knew how to make websites but the exploitation was at its peak. The company politics took a dirty turn when I was told to leave my cabin to sit with other employees. A clear jealous move by my shitty senior who was insecure of me and my work.

That's when I started Freelancing

And that's when I realized I was being just another underpaid pawn who's talent was being misused by a company he didn't deserve to be in.

The very next day I decided to quit the job and become a full time Freelance Web Developer and SEO Consultant to work for clients from all over the world.

And here I am, over-packed with tons of projects and guess who is my boss now - ME.

Sort:  

Congratulations @heavyn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @heavyn! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65