"What Does Freedom Mean to You?" - A Freedom Friday Challenge II Impermanence, Birds, and NanoSeconds of Pure Freedom

in #freedomfriday6 years ago (edited)

Oh man, I love the blockchain for posing these questions. I especially like these really open ones! I can't wait to see what everyone else has written.

@eaglespirit invites us to consider what freedom means to us. I'm posting early Friday morning in Australia, so if you're reading this and it's Thursday where you are, you have a whole 24 hours to do a #freedomfriday post! Keep an eye on this space as #freedomfriday happens every week! She writes:

We want to hear from you in any way you wish to share your expression of freedom and what you see going on in the world. How do you really feel? What is your heart and soul telling you about freedom? Sing us your song so we can support and rejoice with you.

Last week I wrote about religious freedom, and the paradox of allowing people to have their faith and be able to express it, whilst protecting other people's freedoms too. At the moment, religious institutions have a lot of freedom as they're largely exempt from anti discrimination laws, and that's under review, which is causing much debate here in Australia.

image.png
Gang gangs in the gum trees - not an eaglespirit, @eaglespirit, but a bird spirit all the same. All photos that follow are mine, taken in my garden.


But I've been thinking about this question all week, and whether that's what I want to continue writing about. What does freedom mean to me personally?

Sitting in the damp grass under the warm Spring sun early this week, I felt it - a sense of freedom. It was momentary, but delicious - a soul carressing, wing expanding, heart exploding kinda feeling that could only be described as divine.

And then I thought that freedom isn't about politics or rights, or any of the thing I was talking about last week, but something far deeper, and something I've been working on my whole life. Freedom is freedom from the attachments that make us think 'this' is who we are, dividing us from ourselves and each other as we discriminate and attach to views that constantly fail to bring about any peace at all. They're particular to time, place, culture, and debates like this start wars, and rear their ugly heads over decades, centuries, all time.

They simply obscure us from the true self, the one we spend our whole life trying to find.


image.png
A new holland honeyeater seeking a drink in the heat - the basic needs of birds are ours, too

Desire as Entrapment: We Are Slaves

We can't talk about freedom without talking about the things that bind. We're so enmeshed and entangled in this cocoon of our own desires that we don't think beyond the cocoon. We're so entangled in sensory experience, attachments and aversions, we assume things based on our perceived reality, unable to see our true self, right at the centre of all living things.

image.png
Cockatoo checking out the vegetable patch. How can I get mad at a cockatoo for being within it's true nature, even if it is looking for fruit I think is mine, all mine?


We identify with this impermanent body, our changing mind, our intellect and our senses - the big "I am". I am young, old, a mother, a lover. I am angry, righteous, wronged. My beliefs about God or the nature of reality are right and yours are wrong. It's our nature as humans to understand the world in terms of duality - sadness and joy, approval and disapproval, success and failure, light and dark. And we favour one over the other because of the feelings it produces, and believe that this is the way things should always be. We chase after the desires - money, riches, youth, sex, possessions - and think they are permanent sources of happiness, forgetting that duality is the rule - the young woman ages, the rich man loses all his money, the lover leaves like a theif in the night. So we cry 'woe is me!' and this becomes our identity, and we project this anger and outrage outward on others instead of looking within for the ties that bind us to false realities.

image.png

The False Illusions of the Self

Most of the crisis we have in our life are based on something we've forgotten - that everything is impermanent. A strong yogi hurts her back, and cannot move for a year. Who is she, if she is not this strong and dancing thing? A husband of 15 years leaves the wife for a younger woman, causing her to question whether she is good enough, pretty enough, loveable enough. A fit man gets cancer, and struggles to reconcile weakness with masculinity and action, an identity that has been his his whole life. In each occasion, crisis acts as opportunity to ask 'who are we, really?'. Each of these instances has happened to someone I know, and more, and it's happened to me too, many times. I feel I'm always cracking open, and have learnt that the 'I' is never constant, and is always changing. This makes life infinitely easier to deal with. Not easy, but easier.

image.png
Birds are free because they are never strangers to themselves


In yogic philosophy, amongst others, this ignorance about who we really are, and attachments to particular identities is called avidya - a misplaced understanding about life. It's known as one of the kleshas or barriers to enlightenment and is a roort cause of suffering. In fact, all the other sufferings can be seen to branch outward from avidya. It's about focussing on impermanent, shifting things, and getting caught up in assumptions, prejudices and discriminatory beliefs.

We chase the unreal, forgetting about the real. We chase illusions and forget the basic rules of nature - that we live, and we die. These rules are inescapable. To think otherwise is to be imprisoned by falsehoods. We forget that what we are, really, is the inablity to experience that our deep connection to others is truth - we fail to recognise that essentially we are spirit, sharing this with the entire universe and every atom in it. That's all. And everything.

These illusions of selfhood weave through every aspect of our life - our culture, our upbringing, our societies and communities and relationships. It's in the things we long for, and the things that terrify us. It's the things we avoid, and the things we chase.

When you start realising that everything you used to form this "I" is a construction of the mind and sensations, you start to see the source of your miseries. When you do that, you've got a far better chance at freeing yourselves from it.

image.png
A blue wren in the pigface

image.png


Everything is Nature, We've Just Forgotten This

How do we free ourselves from the shackles of our desires? That's what real freedom is to me. And when I was sitting on the wet grass, with the wedgetails flying over head and the ants crawling across my bare legs, and the magpies picking at worms and the rosellas in the trees, the fairy wrens darting in threesomes, cockies alighting the gums with white - I felt it.

Just for an instant - that I was free, because I was part of nature, not separate from it. The birds were me. The grass was me. The sky was me. And they were I, and there was no 'I', a nanosecond of pure bliss and freedom.



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

left.gifriverflows.gif

Sort:  

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you 💚

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice Job My friend!

Thank you

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful words.

You've raised an interesting dichotomy for me... I automatically have a sense of freedom when I'm surrounded by the natural environment.

But I 💛💛💛 the city, and all that human culture is... theatres, restaurants, cafes, cinemas, clubs, pubs, bars, galleries, museums, shops, trains, trams, people hanging out on the streets, squares, and community spaces, doing their thing... and yet, I find I struggle to maintain an internal sense of freedom in this space.

And I do believe that freedom is an internalised state (for me). It's about feeling safe. So now I'm wondering why I don't feel safe (enough) in an environment I love. Maybe I need to reframe how I view these things so I can enjoy them.

When we moved back to Australia we thought long and hard about where we could move to. We did have two trips to Tassie. In the end being fairly close to Melbourne was a deciding Factor. Although we don't go up there much it isn't very far from us and we love power dips in to city Life. Ultimately though nature always calls and wins. I guess it is about balance too. However the older I get the more I want to just Retreat Into the wilds. I find that too much noise and fury rattles my bones. 24 hours of city life is usually enough for me to get my fix.

Posted using Partiko Android

You two just summarized what's going on in my mind right now, this thin line between being free and feeling save.

The more I stay in the city, the more I feel like living in a sailboat in antartica or in a cabin in the middle of nowhere.

As long as you have a wifi connection and mate!

Ahhhhhh you know me very well @riverflows hahahahaha

Well put! I follow that philosophy too. Building my awareness to be free of those hindrances. I was just thinking of posting for #FreedomFriday but I could not say it any better than this. Maybe I'll post of the freedom I feel out in nature and when nature gave me an ahh-ha moment for what it's all about. Excellent post!

Thank you this is very kind. I would love for you to write about what freedom means to you. I always love your posts

Posted using Partiko Android

Liking this #FreedomFriday idea and I did get my post written.

amen sister amen!! or you might use a diff word but THAT is glorious freedom!! thank you for sharing your wonderful experience and so well developed and written. i felt it and that made your gift, YOU as our steemit gift so wonderful to behold. i thank you again from the bottom of my heart for contributing such a lovely piece.
i just loved all the photos and the one about “not and eagle” hahahah just lovely!! much love, eagle

🤗🦅

Thank you lovely spirit bird. I just love your concept and hope lots of people write about it for freedom Friday. I really enjoyed writing this one and I think it's a good challenge for my every Friday. I thank you from the bottom of my heart and to the tips of my wings back

Posted using Partiko Android

@riverflows hehe you crack meee up and yay spirit bird! woo hoo i love the name
so glad you loved it and yours came out glowing, a true gem. gave everyone chills. you are so welcome and glad we can all work together. its much easier for me too, than being "alone". hugs

I had a conversation one time with a guy who said that he experience freedom as "If I can do what I want then I am free"... But I don't feel it like that. Freedom for me is being who I want to be no matter what and enjoying all the beauty that is given us by nature...

You did a excellent job writing... Thank you !!

Too kind! I like that... to be who we want to be and enjoying nature...

you have such a ability to express yourself really well you know that?

one of the the things that means freedom to me is also to live in an environment where it is ALLOWED to think different.Also this is broad, along a country, in a workplace, amonst your friends. The ability to BE yourself and speak about what you think. With respect ofcourse, because we are all not the same, and you have to realize that.
That is key, understanding where the ideas of others come from. From their pasts, from stuff that they see every day, from stuff that they do.

Not one thing defines you as a human, it is how you treat others from your vision.

Aw thanks, your praise means a lot! Yes we are lucky to live in places where we CAN think freely. And I agree... how we treat others defines our humanity 🙏💚💚🌷

Thank you for participating in #freedomfriday! You can find your post in the Spread the Love Curation Report and we have sent 1 STEEM to @steembasicincome with your username in the memo. Thank you for your conscious contribution to this platform! Steem on! 🙏❤


left.gif

Thankyou @freedomtribe... big sloppy kisses xx

Wow. This is beautiful. It reminds me that freedom can happen in a moment of just being. Thank you for painting that beautiful picture in my mind and reminding me of the true self.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56