Music and Freedom (Submission @EagleSpirit & @FreedomTribe's #FreedomFriday)

in #freedomfriday6 years ago

You may notice that this is not Friday but last Friday I did not feel free to post for the regular #FreedomFriday, low RC.
Now I'm recharged I want to take the opportunity to respond to @EagleSpirit & @FreedomTribe's topic of "Freedom in Music, Freedom Songs".

Music has played a big part in some of my healing journeys with it's power to transport me away from not so satisfactory conditions. When I lay paralyzed in the hospital rehab ward, music was there to take me away.

As a troubled teen again in a hospital ward it was music that lifted the dark veil and while playing it, gave me focus and clarity.

Music carried the messages of major cultural influencers, one of the best known was Bob Dylan. Here's one of his famous freedom songs -

"The Chimes of Freedom"

It was music that woke me up to the many issues and struggles with the protest songs sang by activists like, again, Bob Dylan and Joan Baez

"Blowin' in the Wind"

Another activist who influenced me was Buffy Sainte-Marie and her

"Universal Soldier"

Another song of Buffy Sainte-Marie's that evokes freedom is

Buffy Sainte-Marie with Tanya Tagaq "You Got To Run (Spirit Of The Wind)"

Visionaries carried there message in song as John Lennon in -

"Imagine"

Music has the power to draw people together as with the famous song "We Shall Overcome"

Joan Baez Singing "We Shall Overcome" at the March on Washington

I really enjoyed this trip down memory lane with the influential songs of my past.
I hope you too can feel the power of song and the freedom it can bring.

Sort:  

Oh don't worry dear, last week's #freedomfriday went awry for everyone because of the Hard Fork, so it was postponed til THIS Friday! Crazy. Love your choice of songs - I love Dylan, though J. hates him so I can only play him when he's not at home! He he.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the update! Ha! That's funny that it has to be just you and Dylan alone!

Great post Porters and thank you for sharing your Freedom music with us, especially being in a hospital and how music helped you through that.
much love,
eagle spirit

Great prompt for #freedomfriday! Can't wait for the next one! I really wanted to get that out about the power of music to transport you out of not so satisfactory conditions. It was sure beneficial to me and I hope it can help others.

woot, so glad you particpated and will be a part of the next one. this is really getting off to a beautiful thing. love it!!
thank you again for being a part of this initiative. :)

Thank you for participating in #freedomfriday! You can find your post in the Spread the Love Curation Report and we have sent 1 STEEM to @steembasicincome with your username in the memo. Thank you for your conscious contribution to this platform! Steem on! 🙏❤

Thank you very much! I'm enjoying these #FreedomFriday and can't wait to see next Friday's prompt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60202.34
ETH 2423.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43