Freedom Friday: "How Do I Feel About The Freedom To Bear Arms?" Read on...

in #freedomfriday6 years ago (edited)

On the topic of freedom and this weeks prompt, given by @EagleSpirit & @FreedomTribe "Where does the right to bear arms fit in?"

guns second amendment.png

I know the United States has that as part of their constitution, the right to bear arms, but I am a Canadian and we can own firearms if we have a firearms acquisition certificate, easily obtained by taking a gun safety course and having a criminal record check.
Canada, at one time, had tried to pass a gun registration law but that was a real joke, that cost a lot of tax payer money!
Now the regular citizen can have the right to own guns with their certificate but we know criminals never bother with that stuff, if they want to have a gun, they will have a gun an no amount of legislature will change that.

I do believe people have the right to defend themselves with equal force as what they are threatened with. With the amount of violence in the world and the prevelence of guns out there, to say that someone could not bear arms would be to say they could not defend themselves.

What an imbalance there would be if only the governments and people in power were allowed to be armed but the common folk were left without. That is stripping away their power and is unjust.

When I look back on the evolution of the gun, it has always given a one-upens for the gun holder against an unarmed person or game.

That brings me to another point of guns as a tool to not only protect your family but to feed them also. I could not deny a person that right.

Now when I look at an ideal world where all beings are living in peace and harmony there would be no need for guns and I would not want them in that world.

This would be my preference but my conditions as they are now, we do have a gun in the house and it has been used to scare bears away and my husband is fully prepared to defend his family if it ever came to that.

close up gun trigger.jpg

Personally I know how to use it but I don't know if I could ever pull the trigger on a person or any being for that matter, it is not my nature.

Now are guns necessary for absolute freedom? I think not, for there are many types of freedom which guns would play no part in attaining.

Will guns ever disappear?
Not for eons, they are very much entrenched in our society.

back view of woman with arms raised in a forest setting.jpg

My choice is to retreat into the forest to live a peaceful life for as long as I may and as long as the forces let me. The gun is there but I hope it will never have to be used and I would not like someone lording over me, telling me that I can not have that gun, while they continue to have that right.

All photos were from Pixabay

Sort:  

Amen sister! love this and thank you so much for participating. i love your words of wisdom and i am right there with you in all aspects. i just do not want anyone to tell me i can't do anything, period. i love that you choose to go into the forest and i'm guessing you do not need guns to protect yourself out there? what if a grizzly came after you? just curious.

We do have a gun here in our forest home for things like that - bears! We just shoot some buckshot over their head and they are gone! Living back off the main road we can live fairly peacefully. we don't even bother locking our doors. We do have a big German Shepard dog though, that looks really intimidating so I don't think anyone who didn't know him would walk up to our place. You have to walk to our place too. You can not drive up to it. I feel pretty safe.

yeah i kinda figured. nice about not locking doors and a big shep. love that breed, they are so smart. wow sounds amazingly beautiful!! :)

It is beautiful and peaceful too plus I feel quite secure living back in the bush with my big dog.

i bet, i can just imagine the beauty ... ho humm the life (at least in this realm)

Thanks for this. I have learnt more about how you guys feel about guns in these few posts than in all the reading I have done, especially since the stories are so personal.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it was an interesting read for a subject that I don't often think about. Loving these #FeedomFridays! I wonder what they will come up with next?

Thank you for participating in #freedomfriday! You can find your post in the Spread the Love Curation Report and we have sent 1 STEEM to @steembasicincome with your username in the memo. Thank you for your conscious contribution to this platform! Steem on! 🙏❤

Thanks so much for the Steembasicincome share and curating my post. I'm really enjoying these FreedomFridays!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55