You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom of Sexuality: It's Freedom Friday FreeFolk!

lovely post dear and so on point for a very important discussion point! you're so good at putting different facts together to tell the current story... as a queer kid (came out later) who grew up in a religious school i 100% support support for queer youth and teachers within those institutions!! as the kid says, nowhere does it say you can't support the LGBT baker... happy you had such a safe space growing up (within your family) and that Australia is getting on board to make better laws. we are SO behind here in the US too and the populace is very polarized. in the end i think it comes down to bigotry and also confusion about what the bible says. people use the bible to justify their own sentiments and prejudices... XO

Sort:  

Thanks honey. I don't think I did a good job at writing really.. a bit of a freeform babble without editing properly. But I hope I expressed myself well enough. I think many religious beliefs don't.fit with the world we want to manifest and though I feel a little aggressive in my last line, I left it in as when I think of how people have suffered in the name of God I feel upset and angry.

You know, when this stuff comes up in class I never really say how I identify as I worry about the repercussions of that. Yet it's fine for straight people to asset their sexuality all the time. In smaller conversations with bright queer kids I'm more forthcoming as I want them to know they aren't alone.

Yeah I'm lucky. And my boy was, in his circle.. a super tolerant school with many openly gay kids and relationships. My fear was when they got out into the world as some don't fare so well. So far my son's mates have done fine.. guess we are fairly liberal round here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62339.62
ETH 2444.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62