You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Easy Freegan! Yesterdays Loot..

in #freedom6 years ago

Thanks @movingman, for reminding us how sinfully wasteful our economic model and culture are. It's a sad fact that people are dying from hunger, when we in the so-called "civilized" part of the world waste so much. A supermarket is always chock-full of products, a lot of which will never be sold before it's expiration date and will be thrown away some time before that, like you demonstrate.

Thanks for sharing and sound advice my friend.

Sort:  

Hi mate! one of the things that pisses me off is that when I was living in "House Life", I was working like everyone else, I always had an above average paid job but somehow I only ever could afford the cheap food which I have since learned is just complete crap. My diet consisted of purely processed foods, that were quick to take out the freezer and pop in the oven after a days grafting.
White Bread, White Pasta, Canned beans, Microwave foods, Frozen Vegetables (hahaha fuck its weird to write this and to think it was "me") White sugar - I used like a KG a week?!
Cheap , Nasty and No Nutritional values

But this was all that I could afford to eat. Organic food where I grew up was only eaten by well off familys, and its was just out of the question to be able to buy anything Organic. Shit, I was so dumbed down and ignorant that I thought Organic foods should be cheaper because they dont have to use chemicals, and plus I didnt really care at all as long as I wasnt hungry. Organic foods were just for the rich, thats just how it was growing up.

All these years, there has been the opportunity to go and check in the trash and not only people in "third world countries" are going hungry, I know many English family's who are still in the position I was in eating shit food thinking Organic foods are just for the rich because they can only afford the processed stuff. If we had all known about this waste, we would have been able to eat great food instead of the cheap stuff they let people afford to buy and would have had a better quality of life, but they know this of course!

One nice thing I saw the last months, is that here in Norway, on the organic milk from supermarket, they now have best before, BUT not bad after.. and then the date :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63026.81
ETH 3462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51