You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: True Life: I'm 29 And I Still Haven't Quite Figured Out My Sexuality

in #freedom7 years ago

One of my issues with society is the urgency with which it wants to label everything. Not everyone fits into left or right, so they make a third option or 46 options...why not just leave it open ended? Why does your sexuality need to be defined? i would check off a box that said straight male in a survey but I don't really identify as being a straight male much more than I identify with being a "right cheek freckle-er". It's an arbitrary word to make it easier to catalogue me and I would rather not be catalogued.

Glad you decided to love yourself :-)

Sort:  

@whatamidoing you are so right. As much as labeling can be a useful thing in terms of being able to more easier interact with the outside word, the concept in itself implies a lot of limitations. It can easily feel like an obligation... I HAVE to know who I am so I can SHARE who I am. I'd like to live in a world where you are encouraged to take your time and that it's okay to say "I don't know" when you really don't know.

Thanks for sharing and reading man. Really appreciated this.

We'd love to have you in the Be Awesome chats, link is on my profile. We talk about this kind of stuff sometimes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65022.21
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37