Sort:  

seems reasonable.
is that guy's name Rube Goldberg?

I always bring a gun to a knife fight.

While I have never fired a shot at a person, even in those rare occasions where I was armed and was threatened by an aggressor with a gun, I have managed also to not get shot. As @personz pointed out, it is far more important to be willing to act appropriately than it is to have a particular device or weapon.

He's also right about bats. The worst personal injury I have ever suffered at the hands of another person was being struck in the head with a baseball bat. Had medical attention not been available within the hour, I would surely have died of blood loss from a smashed artery at the age of 11.

Also known as a shiv. Almost anything can be a weapon really, so no need to panic.

An image of a cutlery customer in China, whose ethnicity was laser-engraved onto a cleaver he purchased to identify him should it be misused against the overlords he is subject to, lingers with me also.

It was a large knife and it was engraved with his ID, which was undoubtedly linked to his ethnicity, among much much more data. The truth is stranger and scarier than your slight misrepresentation here.

I do believe you are absolutely correct. As I age ungracefully into senescence I note more and more often the fragility of my recollection of specific details.

Thanks!

Curated for #informationwar (by @openparadigm)
Relevance: Do it Yourself Shank(can I just buy rice flower?)
Our Purpose

"...can I just buy rice flower?"

But, a ball mill is so very useful for many other purposes, like making gunpowder...

They can't buy spoons without ID? Huh? Really?

I am not English, so I haven't experienced it personally, but this is what I am assured is the case from them that are. Not just spoons, but whisks, and I assume any metal implement of the appropriate size.

This is why I don't want to see self-driving cars in America. As soon as Lyft/Uber/Waymo become universally approved, I expect private ownership of vehicles--and the freedom to travel they provide--will be similarly made impossible, or at least so expensive that only quite wealthy people will be able to afford it.

This I totally agree with. Both homes and cars are really just funded with credit in most cases. These credit bubbles are going to blow up eventually. But at least with credit you could privately "use" your car. Even without autonomous driving, modern cars can be very dangerous:



I do not use bankster credit. I don't use banks at all. Others that do have been able to provide an appropriate shield to me, but my intention is to make that obsolete.

I paid $100 for my present home, which, as you might guess, was a decrepit shambles. I drive a 1980 VW pickup, which has no electronics which can be hacked. However, the wiring for the solar panel that feeds the batteries caught fire yesterday LOL and I am about to go and make some repairs to the system.

Not everyone can do as I have, and our economic extremity is existential. This is why I seek to create a new development paradigm, or at least accelerate the one ongoing, so that extremity will drive people to undertake the necessary means of freeing themselves from the attempt to enslave them to predatory banksters and presstitutes seeking to parasitize them.

I am confident in the laws of physics potentiating technology that will make such slavery obsolete soon, and that people are nominally competent to perceive their best interests as technology enables them despite the aversion conditioning of modern 'schooling' and indoctrination currently inflicted on our posterity.

Thanks!

Well said!
Personally I have lots of hopes for zero-knowledge proofs and other cryptographic technologies. BAT is going to do some great stuff and STEEM and other storage coins have enabled us to truly own our user accounts and files. As long as there is innovation, these control-freaks can never catch up as they always have to be merely reactionary.

Eh... not in agreement. In what circumstances would carrying a blade be preferable to not doing so?

Now - body armour is a different story. Every civilian should have a crisis suit.

I always have more than one blade on me. I have one for basic utility purposes with replacable blades that are razor sharp, others that are part of a multitool, and one my mother gave me before she died, a tiny Victorinox Swiss Army Knife I use for cleaning my nails.

As a carpenter, there's little I could do without blades.

When I live in the woods, I also carry a basic Bowie knife (one of my favorites is the Marine Corps Fighting Knife, or Ka-Bar) which I use for everything from chopping down trees and splitting kindling to spearing game.

I am having trouble imagining any circumstances in which it would be preferable to not have a blade.

There is no contesting the 'usefulness' of knives as tools. But the wisdom of resorting to one for defense seems more situational at best.

"The police opened fire on the suspect whom they claimed brandished a knife" (any anti-police sentiment is slashed).

Why would they make it so difficult to possess blades in England and China if they weren't useful for personal defense? The police have shown they need no 'he had a blade' excuse to shoot Americans dead.

There are more murders in London now than in New York City, and I am quite certain that had many of those victims had personal arms, there'd be far fewer in both places. As to blades as suitable for defense, most criminals in England are facing completely unarmed victims, and even a blade made of rice would be likely to turn them towards less defended victims.

They are useful in those situations for personal offense. I agree with @pathforger, they are not good defensive weapons except in the hands of the trained and / or experienced. One of the main things that training and experience is for in this case is to instil the will to use it. The everyday person is not motivated to knife an aggressor as the cost is very high, and is not going to be skilled at a knife vs knife battle without posing serious risk to their safety.

A bat makes for a better weapon, or martial arts training especially against knife fighting (e.g. Aikido), or indeed one of the non lethal disarming sprays, including those which are fired as projectiles.

I have been shot at, and disarmed folks pointing guns at me on more than one occasion. As I was unarmed at the time of each disarming incident, I note that your statement that the willingness to act as necessary to defend yourself is far more important than the weapon you have is absolutely correct.

Nothing is more important than training, and I have seen a 12 year old child put a 30+ year old tattooed ex-con that grabbed him around the throat from behind on the ground promising never, ever to do that again, in less time than it takes for a deep breath.

Couldn't agree more.

Also, well done on your feat of courage!

It's not courage really. Seems pretty straightforward to close that distance and get a hold of a gun pointing at you at the time. The further you get from the gun, the greater advantage the gun brings to the contest.

Just common sense.

Excuese me sir, do you have a licence for that swiss army knife?

Yes, officer, right next to my rice license.

I feel pretty sorry for the English.

In the last month its just been one thing after another.
Articles 11 and 13 is like the nail in the coffin too.

https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2018/04/european-copyright-law-isnt-great-it-could-soon-get-lot-worse

Next week anything with a right angle on it will have to be padded, just think of the children!
lol

As individuals they may be able to fashion implements to defend themselves from other knife wielders but as a people they have made themselves utterly defenseless to being invaded from within, any British person that tries to speak against the coming implementation of sharia law will be locked up as a hate speaker.

I completely agree with you. The UK voted to leave the EU years ago. They're not leaving. How can the will of the people be completely ignored? Because the people are defenseless, and have no means of executing their will, because they are disarmed.

This makes the will of the people irrelevant.

It is a criminal act in the UK to speak freely. The police recently posted regarding a marijuana bust, and bragged it up. Many people there, as everywhere, believe police should be pursuing meaningful criminal activity, such as gangs of 'refugees' grooming, raping, and pimping English girls as young as 11, rather than devoting their mighty enforcement power to jailing adults for using a medicinal plant, and said as much in reply to the police post.

The police banned many of them, and are pursuing prosecution under laws that make it a crime to say things that cause anxiety, apparently claiming that they are being caused anxiety by criticism of their preying on people using marijuana.

However, the police threaten to prosecute people for their opinions stated in replies, and demonstrably act on those threats, causing folks untold anxiety and distress by doing so--exactly the very 'crime' they are able to forcibly kidnap, hold in captivity, and destroy financially the defenseless English for.

'Do as we say, not as we do.' The government and it's agents are above the law, which is nothing more than a tool to silence dissent and create economic opportunities for criminal thugs and profiteers on the backs of a subject population.

The UK is no longer free. It is no longer the West, but has become an open air gulag, similar to the Gaza strip. Should resistance to such depredations become more forceful, I am confident that such acts as renditioning Tommy Robinson and importing masses of covertly trained terrorists from the war torn Middle East will be accompanied by drone strikes against citizens identified by panoptic surveillance as enemies of the overlords.

The murder rate in London recently surpassed that in New York City, as the defenseless people are increasingly preyed upon by violent criminals, and the police are preying upon them as well, rather than protecting them. How far behind such combined covert and overt predation are actual death squads?

I suspect they are already in operation, under the covering guise of street crime. It's impossible to know, with the courts there issuing gag orders on reporting on such criminal gangs and the rendition of Tommy Robinson, who was arrested for reporting, tried, and sentenced in less than 5 hours to more than a year in captivity in the company of the very gangs of pimps and rapists he has been reporting on.

God save the Queen!

They put him in a literal panopticon.

All of England is in a literal panopticon.

Except for those most important to watch: government and their overt and covert agents.

it's a figurative panopticon, this is where he is being held, a literal panopticon built in the Victorian era:
http://www.lordline.co.uk/image/cache/data/Hedon%20Road%20[800x600]-500x500-w.jpg

Could you please post the pic? That link just 404s.

it was just a picture of Hull Prison, it was built in the 1870s

people who live in prisons often resort to homemade shanks.

It is existentially dangerous for free people to be disarmed while armed criminals refuse to obey laws against possessing weapons. Only people whose thoughts are so disordered and distorted by incessant propaganda could fail to understand this.

We see there are untold millions of people in that condition today, as falsehoods are continually fed them from every controlled opposition front of the propaganda mills of the enemedia. Q anon and Russiagate are both products of entities like Psygroup, Black Cube, and Wikistrat, whose bots are the real propaganda weaponry that infest social media platforms and create a false narrative posturing as a war against the deep state and cabals of banksters.

Both sides of that false narrative are creations of those very cabals, in order to lock Demoblicans and Republicrats (in the US) in desperate struggle against each other, leaving the cabals in serene peace and charge of the entirety of the powers of government and unrestrained raw force.

American police kill more Americans than terrorists.

Who are the real terrorists?

I don't know the origin of various psy ops. Seems like democrats the media and globalists are all on the same side. Nobody seems to like Trump much, I like that. Clearly there is a lot of bullshit and disinformation that gets circulated.

"American police kill more Americans than terrorists."

I don't see how that not being the case would be better. I would like both numbers to be zero. More people being killed by terrorists would not be good. They didn't average in 9/11 in that statistic did they? The total number of people shot to death by police does seem like it is high. On the other hand that number is just designed to upset you because they don't say what percentage of those are legit cases where the cops were defending themselves, the unsaid premise is that they were all innocent unarmed black children murdered by racist pigs right?
I am sure some of that goes on but why try to inflate it?

I heard about this. That is pretty messed up. I couldn't imagine not being able to own a gun, let alone, a knife.

I confess my head doesn't wrap around it well either. I am completely mystified at folks that revel in being unable to buy spoons without ID.

What the actual fuck?

I can't understand that type of thinking at all. I could go out in my garage right now and make a knife out of anything if I wanted to. Hell. I could probably even make a gun. Carding people when buying a spoon is not going to solve anything. If they did that to me, I would just teach myself to make my own weapons and I would become damn good at it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99