My First Time

in #freedom7 years ago


On Sunday, January 28, I attended my first state convention for a political party in Tucson, Arizona. If you have read my post on Why Government Doesn’t Work, then you know that it was for the Libertarian party. It was at this event where I got to meet @adamkokesh for the first time, along with his girlfriend Stacy. As mentioned before, Adam is the chairman for the party in Yavapai County, and I am the treasurer. He is also the leading Libertarian candidate for the US Presidency in 2020.

Right inside the entrance to the meeting room was a table set up with some items for sale. I bought two bumper stickers. One is from Bitcoin not bombs. I found out later that Dru and Davi, the two people behind that website were present at this event. The other says, “Make America Grateful Again” and has a Grateful Dead logo on it. Who would have ever thought that I would buy a Grateful Dead bumper sticker ever again? After the event I got a picture with Dru and Davi underneath a bomb that was hanging over the bar.

Upon the call to order, there was quite a discussion over the right to vote as some of the counties represented did not properly register with the state. Despite this apparent setback, we managed to secure several seats at the national convention in New Orleans this June. Ironically, I didn’t even know that I am one of those delegates until after the event.

One order of business at this convention was the election of officers. Because there was some non-statutory offices open, I was willing to be nominated for one of them: second vice-chair. Two other people were also nominated for that office, and I was certain that one of them would get it as they had much more experience in civil service than I. However, after saying a few words to the attendees about my experience, and intent, I did make it past the first round. But as expected, I lost to the other nominee.

Overall, it was an interesting experience. It was neat to get an insight on how some of the political process works. Besides that, I also got to meet Kevin McCormick, the candidate for the governor of Arizona, and Nicholas Sarwark, the candidate for the mayor of Phoenix.

Kevin McCormick

Nicholas Sarwak

It was also encouraging to learn that donations to the Arizona Libertarian party were much higher this past year than in previous years according to the chart that was handed out. Many people in this country are losing confidence in the Republican and Democratic parties, and are looking for another option. Well, one definitely exists, and I am glad to be a part of it. If you would like to discuss the Libertarian party, and my intentions with it, feel free to contact me on Steemit chat: @timothy.benjamin or leave a comment below.

Sort:  

freedom is the birth right of every human,thanks for sharing with us

its good to attend a state meeting like that. thanks bro for sharing your experienced.

@echowhale team members swimming by with your upvotes
@echowhale
@echosupport
@babyechowhale
@journeyoflife
@carterx7, will be doing the same shortly

No mention of Adam's "Freedom!" book? Have you read it (or listened to the mp3)? Here's the link. I ask only that you at least listen to the 8:05 mark. It will be easy to decide one way or another whether or not you want to hear the rest. I would love your appraisal.

Not only have I read it, but I have been asked by Adam to take on the responsibility of coordinating with people who are willing to translate it into other languages, which I have.

Impressive!! I just ran into a guy in Poland on one of the other posts, while doing this promotion effort. When I see the strain again, I'll let you know his tag. Meanwhile, we need to get the folks in America who speak English to read it.... especially the millenials. It's your nation now. What are you going to do with it? I've got a really good strategy that can assure Adam gets on that debate stage in 2020. Remember, a candidate only needs to show 15% in the polls. It will ask people to dedicate 10 min a day, 6 days a week doing the exact same thing I am doing right now. Work your social media and email contact list to simply ask someone to listen to the audio file of the book at least to the 8:05 mark. Then decide whether it's worth it to continue to the end, or shut it down. In either case, have them email you an appraisal of the book.... which of course, we forward to campaign HQ. What sayeth?

Thanks for your help. Your technique sounds good. My focus is to make sure Adam gets on the ballet. I have some ideas in mind for getting the word out that I will implement as more of my time becomes available later this spring. For now, I need to get a printed copy to my mother, who wants to read it after my last talk with her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50