What I Have Learnt from an @asshole

in #freedom8 years ago
poops plate
by Ryser915, CC BY-SA

There is an @asshole in this blockchain. I don't give them the pleasure to feel negative about them, I will learn from them instead (not really from them but the situation they caused).


Freedom is Freedom

I prefer freedom. In freedom, assholes find there places, too.

They have a stake here and the opportunity to vote as they wish. I don't hate them for the downvotes. In fact:

Thank you, @asshole, that you keep a part of your wealth in SteemPower tokens, and growing our ecosystem with it, instead of buying whoopee cushions.

Everyone thinks that freedom is a convenient state, and that they want it. If I can tell you a thing that I've thought in my life that freedom is not convenient. Humans just want it until they feel helpless the first time, then they want authority back soon like a little child. In this case, they want a moderator, @steemit, or @ned and @dan (leaders) to act. But this is a wish for centralization, and would be the restriction of @asshole's freedom. If someone's freedom is in danger, then also yours. Therefore who wants intervention of these kind of inconveniences, wants restriction, which is the end of freedom. It's simple.

Lesson

I've written:

They have a stake here and the opportunity to vote as they wish.

It is true for everyone, also for me. @asshole has thought me that upvoting your own content is not just rational, but a way you can defend yourself from censorship. I comment because I want that someone see and read it. I cannot monitor every of my comments that, are they still visible. So I need to do everything that I can before potential downvotes. I don't have less freedom than any of the downvoters out there.
I'd recommend to every user that UV their own posts and comments with their own account(s).

I've opened #1083 at Github and asked for auto upvote option on our own comments to make freedom more convenient. ;)

Just Happened

I've started writing this article after this happened under my blog.


hided comment
@asshole Hided My Comment, by @tibonova

revealed comment
Revealed Comment, by @tibonova

revealed, hovered comment
Revealed, Hovered Comment by @tibonova

revealed, upvoted comment
Revealed, Upvoted Comment, by @tibonova

The show must go on.


Follow [tibonova⏷], upvote ⮹ (like 🖒), comment, resteem ↱ (reblog) and share – the power is yours from now! 🛀

Sort:  

I've read your article.
I see where the annoyance came from. Users are not used to flags yet.

Your solution is democratic, but in democracies, two man could hang up the third by any reason. The two will be happy, but ask the third... Closing out somebody by votes is a thing I don't want to see. That is too radical, and I would never invest to something that could close out me of my investment.
Also, it would require to give up the KISS principle. As I've read from the issues at Github, devs are getting serious about it. That governance system would complicate things on the blockchain level.

I always appreciate your input, I remember when I first saw you on here, your comments are very good. You are smart, and I said that a few times.

TY again.

Thanks for your kind words, they encourage me.

I am glad for that!!!

We should all encourage each other a little more. I try my best daily to do that.

I have a feeling we may be dealing with an assault on voting power here - if we use voting power to protect our right to make a post or even to comment on a post means in time the prolific commenters will have no voting power - or can only vote when voting power is restored.

It makes me think...
However, the downvoter also doesn't have endless voting power.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62311.03
ETH 2443.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69