You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Paid Off My House Today

in #freedom7 years ago (edited)

You are indeed absolutely right. Playing with debt is a dangerous game. When the next crisis hits - maybe bank bail-in, nuclear war, plague, south american default, new digital US dollar, (defaulting on the old one), or housing decline, those with too much debt will get slaughtered. In the back of my mind, I've always thought I had a plan, A,B,C,D and E if an asset class collapses, but I will re-evaluate how it would work out in a range of scenarios - and how I would feel. On the latter point I have some experience. I got divorced in 2008 and had to sell every asset I owned at the bottom of the market. House, car, pension fund, shares, gold - basically everything. Financially it hurt like hell, but I was happy as a lark as I had my work and could use the leverage of future salary, (in part that explains the 100% mortgage I now have), to re-leverage and get back to where I was before I gave it all away.

Well now I am back to where I was, l agree, it's a good time to pay off some of that debt. I will work out a plan. Hate to sell my BTC though.

I will read your other articles - e.g about the boat. There's a lot of your blogs I plan to read. I can see it is very high quality. You write well.

I think Bloomberg has a stress test function. You put in your asset allocation, and it tells you what would have happenned in virtually every crisis since the South Sea Bubble. It's going to be interesting to play with, but the obvious flaw is that the next crisis is a black swan and they have no data on that. Also, it can't tell you what happens to crypto, or these new things that everyone calls alternative investments.

Sort:  

Thanks for the compliments, I do appreciate it. Sounds like you've got a good plan and you're thinking things through. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57