You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wired! How To Save The World

in #freedom3 years ago

That is one thing that will improve when we get moved. I will have fiber optic internet!!!!

I fired my cable company, and put in DSL. Dropped my internet bill from $130 to $40 and I don't see much difference.

I did just buy a Roku box that will hardwire into the router through a network port. It was more than twice the cost, but I think it it is worth the difference.

🤠💙💗😁

Sort:  

When I did that, the ability to hardwire to the modem was lost. I have someone coming to look at it today. But I believe my cable company's devices are designed to disable the hardwiring capability if there is wifi in the house. Two different devices lost it as soon as the router was connected to the modem, and I can't do it anymore even if I turn off the router.

So I have a lot to learn. What is DSL?

Add a separate router after the modem. The router will provide the extra ports you want, so you can plug in there. The one you have may be out of date.

DSL is digital service line, connected to the old phone lines. It is slower than cable, but it is a lot less money. My cable had poor signal levels, so I see little difference. Fast enough to watch videos!

💗🤠💙

I did that. But the devices only work if wifi is turned on on both the router and the devices. It's the latest model provided by the cable company. I also tried a multi-port ethernet switch on the modem, and the router was plugged into that.

DSL sounds good to me. I'll see if anyone is providing services through those. Thanks

Distributed processing for Wi-Fi...the beginning of skynet? They are designing small appliances that report in by talking to other small appliances until they reach the manufacturer. That was originally intended to monitor and control a production floor, but it is too tempting for in house spying!

Dish was talking about how they have people monitoring your signals 24/7. Most people don't understand that dish tv is recieve only, until this nightmare came along! Now they keep track of what you watch, and when.

DSL should be available. Sorry the router is giving so much trouble! Go to the second hand stores, and buy an old one....

🤠😭😩

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46