Freedom is a birthright. How I finally arrived here.

in #freedom7 years ago (edited)

First off, I would like to wholeheartedly thank all of my ancestors and elders who never forgot where they "born and grow" despite their travels into distant lands throughout their lives.  Enabling me, born in Canada, the tremendous opportunity to return home once my mind and spirit could accept the possibility.  Where is home?  Jamaica.  From which motherland?  Africa.  Why does this matter?  It's in Jamaica's motto: "Out of many one people."  Statism, I know.  But I must say, I'm enormously proud of mi culture :)

Like many of you Steemit early adopters, most of my life was spent doing what the masses still apparently accept.  Offer most, if not all of the energy afforded to them on any given day towards a career that is payable enough only to take care of all their necessities, buy some trinkets and access credit to buy more trinkets.  Thereby providing the incentive (or trap) to return to work the following day.  Not to mention, substantially reducing their chances to accumulate any substantial wealth of any kind.  Unless the speculations and investments made throughout their lives pay off.  

On and on it went until I became interested in learning more about the founder of stockhouse.com, a website I visited daily in my work at a discount brokerage for one of Canada's big banks before and after the 2008 crash.  The name of that founder?  Jeff Berwick, the @dollarvigilante.  I've been intrigued ever since and the rest is history. 

I have to mention.  The seeds this man freely gave to the world all these years is nothing short of revolutionary.  I am deeply thankful for being a recipient of many of them which I have used to catapult my process of relearning the realities of money from the view of the Austrian school of economics.  Which I personally find far more sensible than that Keynesian garbage.  In addition to reevaluating the current economic realities of the western world.  As we are pretty much aware, is currently under an enormous amount of systemic risk which will probably lead into a political crisis the day it buckles under its own weight of monetary easing.  Look around and you will find some emerging economies feeling the pain right now.  Which, to me, is a leading indicator of what is to come for the larger economies. Only this time, the majority of the world's population won't voluntarily agree to the old terms that enriched the west at their expense.  And to think, they actually collaborated to create an improved substitute that promotes fairer trade.  No way a new monetary system emerges without a conflict.  In what form and when?  Who knows.  If history repeats itself, this will be a very slow, messy process that should unfold over a period of years.  Then a new international monetary system can come into being, replacing this retched Petro-Dollar that continues to rob billions of people from all around the world of their resources in a financial system that promotes the exchange for worthless paper back by misplaced belief. 

In spite of my little rant, I recognize the tremendous opportunities that exist in these times of significant change.  The reconstruction of my life to reflect this new reality has been slow but intriguing.  The joy really is found in the journey, not at the arrival of your chosen destination.  Money is never a barrier.  Deteriorating health is.

I agree with the notion that the best thing you can do for yourself at this time is travel outside of your matrix to gain understanding about the severity of your economic realities at home.  Until then, you're forced to completely rely on the opinions of others who have.   It's far more exciting to live the experience for yourself.  As for making money? Allow your new environment to reignite your imagination and get creative.  Welcome to the information age :) 

Time for me to bust open a coconut and enjoy the remainder of the day.  Live well. Give thanks. Walk good. One love. 

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit ! happy to have you here. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52