You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Personal Freedom - do we even know what it is?

in #freedom5 years ago

Ah, so sorry to hear of these limitations on your freedoms. I find it hard to conceptualize the idea that we are ONLY prisoners in our own minds and bodies..that we manifest our own reality.... I get it philosoohically, but when you have so many physical barriers to your freedom it's hard to FEEL free, isn't it?

My students always argue we live in a free country. It's all I can to to stop myself ranting at them that they aren't free at all!

A great response.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thanks! I am looking for the way to change it, and it’s a big, bad battle.

To me, the idea that we are “free in our minds” is something very tricky. I am suspicious about it. On one hand, I agree with it and that everything is in the mind... But then, look at this - if I am free in my mind while physically sitting in a prison cell, what is my freedom in practice, in this material world in this material body? I cannot apply it. I cannot act on it. I can only keep bragging to everyone how I’m free in my own head... But how real is that?

I think Charles Manson was big on this idea... sitting behind bars... “I am more free on here than all of you out there” - something like that he said. Well, Mr. Manson, you may be right because many people are trapped by a multitude of things that rule them while giving only the illusion of freedom... but you, no matter how free you are in your mind, cannot physically use it, so you are not free either.

Who knows... I’m on a quest to find out more. And tell others if I can. No, SHOW others... because telling without showing is usually taken as preaching :/