You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #MeToo – who profits?

in #freedom7 years ago

OMG!!! A woman with common sense- will you marry me (just kidding- NOT sexual harassment lol). You made so many good points here. For decades everyone in Hollywood knew about Weinstein's escapades. Most of those women went in knowing the rules of the game- you want the job, you do the deed. It's wrong, but it's the way Hollywood has operated from the start. These weren't innocent ingenues being preyed upon by a bad man- they were actors who went in with their eyes open willing to trade sex for the roles they wanted. Crying foul at this late date sounds a bit hypocritical to me. They weren't forced- they had a choice. They could have walked out and gone back to middle-America with the rest of us. They CHOSE to stay and play the game. This whole "me-too" thing has reached the point of ludicrousness (if that's a word). Great post RS'd

Sort:  

Of course they knew - because I bet it wasn't just Weinstein who did that, I'm sure most of the powerful people in Hollywood ask for sexual favors in return for gigs.

Crying foul at this late date sounds a bit hypocritical to me.

That's exactly what I thought when this whole story broke - fine, Weinstein got to you and abused you (and I mean for real, 'cause I'm sorry, but asking for a massage really doesn't sound like sexual abuse, to me), why didn't you go to the police then? Nobody seems to think about that. it seems only natural that if Weinstein (or anyone) did indeed abuse them, they would report him, they would try to get him jailed as soon as possible. But no, they waited years, until they didn't need to be on his good side anymore. And then they bemoan the fate of so many young women who he "preyed on", it's hypocrisy, because they could've prevented that, if they had truly wanted to.

They CHOSE to stay and play the game.

Yes, I found a really interesting interview a few weeks ago, with Pamela Anderson, who said the exact same thing. It's basic common sense not to go into hotel rooms with little known men, or men you don't desire to have sex with. They knew what they were doing.
I don't know if ludicrousness is a word, but it definitely should be.
Thank you, Rich, I appreciate it :)

I bet if it had have been George Clooney or Brad Pitt, they wouldn't be crying so loud!

Probably not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68237.15
ETH 3499.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72