Sort:  

yup, that's my understanding of regular tracking pixels too... This one is supposedly different, when I work shopped with the exec he was bragging about this new tech coming out of Malaysia that came with the wifi deployment kit... I'm still digging for more info on it cause I want to dig a lot deeper technically...

However in the mean time I have seen the dataset and its impressive and far more comprehensive than just a regular tracking pixel type data...

It's very possible that a malicious Wifi hotspot would use some exploit on the phone and compromise it. I believe intelligence agencies are doing that routinely not only on public WiFi but also on the very 4G hotspots of your operator, probably with the (forced and gagged) consent of your operator. But then, if you think this was an instance of that, you would need to be more specific about what is being done on the phone: just calling that a "tracking pixel" is conflating unrelated concepts and creating confusion, which makes your post appear as FUD.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57174.31
ETH 3071.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40